HOW DO YOU BALANCE THAT?


HOW DO YOU BALANCE THAT? <You can laugh now.> Believe it or not, I have been asked that questions 2 or 3 times over the years. At first I thought the person asking it was joking with me, but I soon learned that they were serious. I mean, just how do you answer a question like that? So now I sometimes joke with others saying that the hardest thing about riding a tadpole trike is learning how to balance it. And, yes, I sometimes get some looks from people as they think I am being serious. I guess some folks just don’t recognize humor when they hear it.

One thing for sure, tadpole trikes attract attention as they still are not all that commonplace. When people see them they look with great interest. Sometimes they stop and look the trike(s) over. If the “pilot” is around they often will start a conversation asking questions about the trike(s). Even if no questions are asked we often see a thumbs up or hear comments like “I really like your ‘bike’ ” … or … “that’s really neat!” … or … “I want one!”

Probably the most common question I hear asked is “how do you steer it?”  Probably the second most common question I hear asked is “is that thing comfortable?”.  I have to admit I would put that question in the same category as “how do you balance that?” Probably the third most common question I hear asked is “how much does it cost?” followed by “where can you buy one?” And when I say followed by I don’t mean they ask that question following the question about cost. I mean it as the 4th most common question asked. A much more rare question asked is “are you handicapped”? Apparently some people think one would have to handicapped to ride such a machine.

Q&A

Yes, questions … we get questions. They go with the territory I reckon. That is, having a tadpole trike means people will ask such questions so we need to avail ourselves to answer them as ambassadors for these wonderful machines. I try to take all the time I can to answer all their questions. Let’s just hope that tadpole trikes won’t become common place. I think I would prefer to answer all the questions than deal with lots of tadpole trike clogging up the trails and streets. 🙂  As expensive as these trikes are it is a pretty safe bet that most folks aren’t going to rush out and buy one.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on May 17, 2014, in tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on HOW DO YOU BALANCE THAT?.

Comments are closed.