A GRUELING ADVENTURE


ROAM velomobiles

Below is one of the articles I wrote and is posted on Steve Greene’s Trike Asylum blog back when I wrote articles for it. Steve Greene was kind and gracious in giving his permission for me to post the articles here on my own blog. In doing so I have added the images.

Velomobiles have been covered on this blog before so I am not trying to go over old ground.  I am sure some Trike Asylum readers were aware that last year a whole bunch of velomobiles undertook quite an adventure peddling from the West Coast (Oregon) to Washington, D.C. in what was called ROAM.

ROAM logo

They came thru Fort Wayne, IN where I live.

ROAM Chicago to Ft. Wayne route

A local man, John Dorrill who is a friend of mine and fellow Greenway Ranger, interviewed and video taped  riders as they rolled into Johnny Appleseed Park to the campgrounds where they were camping for the night.  I was there as well.  Below is his video.  It doesn’t sell me on velomobiles but it is interesting.  When I saw these riders crawl out of their vehicles soak and wet like they had been in swimming with all their clothes on (seriously) it didn’t take long for me to think … nope, this isn’t for me!   I get hot and sweaty enough sitting out in the open air.  Anyway, I think John did a very good job shooting this video and interviewing the riders.

Here is his description which accompanies the video:

The first episode in my new series about all things related to human powered vehicles including velomobiles, bikes, trikes, peddle boat and anything that requires human propulsion. This episode is about the Roll Over America {ROAM} riders that started in Oregon and went to DC.
Special thanks to Access Fort Wayne for making this possible.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on May 18, 2014, in tadpole trikes, videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on A GRUELING ADVENTURE.

Comments are closed.