INCLINED TO RECLINE


Most people share the same testimony that the older they get they have a tendency to take a liking to a recliner chair and just being comfortable and relaxed. When it comes to bicycling most people who have made the switch to a recumbent bike or trike have the same testimony … that riding a diamond frame bike had become more and more of a challenge as their bodies were suffering with leaning over, trying to hold their head up to see … wrists, hands, arms,  shoulders, and backs hurting from the riding position … sore butt from an uncomfortable seat, etc. Then there is the very real danger of riding on two wheels and going down. The older a person gets the more conscience we seem to be about the possibility of getting seriously hurt and what that may involve. I know all this is true for me so I finally came to the point … maybe I should say “to my senses” and made the plunge into the recumbent world. I mean like, WHOA NELLIE! Stop the merry go round, I want to get off! And I did. No regrets other than I wish I had done so many many years sooner. Yep, I am INCLINED TO RECLINE! … and loving it!

Speaking of reclining … tadpole trikes vary in the angle of inclination of the seat back. Some are considerably upright while others are really laid back. The two I know of which are most laid back are the Catrike 700 and the ICE VTX. Both are 25 degrees. That is really laid back! In the image below I have marked the seat angles of my trike (45 degrees – green line) and 25 degrees (red line). That is quite a difference.

protractor angles marked

My seat back angle is adjustable but it only goes more upright. 45 degrees is as far back as it reclines. I wish it would go further back to about 30 degrees, but Catrike only made it to adjust more upright which I personally think is ridiculous and totally worthless as far as having this feature of an adjustable seat back. I have absolutely no desire to sit up straighter but I sure would love to be able to lay back further if I chose to. The word “recumbent” means LAID BACK and that is what it is all about. I would never want to go any further forward than 45 degrees. It defeats the whole purpose of having a recumbent. At least that is the way I look at it … cause I am INCLINED TO RECLINE! … and loving it!

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on May 18, 2014, in construction/design, tadpole trikes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on INCLINED TO RECLINE.

Comments are closed.