WHEN NATURE DOESN’T COOPERATE


Here in Indiana we have a saying … “If you don’t like the weather just wait a short while and it will change.” Now I know that this saying is not native to only Indiana. In fact, it is very common many different places. When it comes to outdoor activities it can be interesting and challenging. I try to keep informed of the weather forecast and plan accordingly as far as my riding. And we know that the weather forecasters are most accurate and we can totally rely on their forecasts. I find it amazing that the local television stations each have their forecasts and they are all different from one another. And none of them are usually anywhere near as accurate as the Weather Channel or NOAA Weather. I am puzzled over how they come up with their forecasts which are so much different than these I have named and other similar ones. Other than the local weather radar I don’t pay much attention to the local forecasts. I usually use Weather.com on my computer.

barometer

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like getting caught out in the rain while I am out riding. It is no fun at all! It is bad enough when you are close to home but if you are a distance away or on a long journey it can be quite miserable.

next 70 miles

Rain is usually the most common weather element we deal with. Wind can be a bit challenging but certainly it is not nearly as bad for recumbent riders as it is for those riding a conventional upright (upwrong as I prefer to call them) bicycle. A moderate wind can feel quite good but certainly it can get to the point where it is noticeable even for a recumbent rider and can start tiring a person out if it lasts long enough.

wind guage

High humidity can be challenging as can heat. Of course, the combination of both makes it worse yet. When it comes to heat and humidity I choose to avoid it if I can. Lately the high daily temperatures here where I live are in the low to mid 80s. That is already way warmer than I like it. I am limiting myself to riding on just one of our local trails which is mostly shaded and far more comfortable to ride than others which don’t offer nearly as much shading from the sun. However, even riding this particular trail involves some parts which have no shade. And getting back home from the trail involves riding mostly in the sun when the heat has already climbed considerably high if I stay out even until noonish. I know some like it when it gets into the 80s and 90s, I much prefer the 40s and 50s for cycling. I ride in a short sleeve shirt and shorts in those temperatures and it feels great to me.

Anyway, in the summer time when the heat and humidity enter into the picture I try to get my ride in early in the day and get back home to “beat the heat”.

Of course, if it gets too cool then there is another concern … snow instead of rain. As far as precipitation falling I would much rather deal with snow so long as it isn’t sticking to the ground and accumulating. Either one (snow or rain) can be challenging trying to see if we don’t have some means of keeping it out of our eyes.

riding in snow 3

Accumulating snow is no fun at all … especially not when riding a trike as they don’t roll very well thru snow. Even a bicycle has its limits. Just ask this guy if you can get him dug out.

riding in snow 2

We can make our plans based on the best information we have available. But sometimes things just don’t work out and we find ourselves dealing with nature. And we may find ourselves remaining out there longer than we anticipated being out … seeking shelter waiting for the weather to improve.

shelter from rain

And hopefully the situation will improve quickly and not worsen. Indeed it can get downright nasty out there …

just a little bit of rain

BEEN THERE, DONE THAT!

NOT ANXIOUS TO REPEAT IT!

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on June 11, 2014, in misc., tadpole trikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on WHEN NATURE DOESN’T COOPERATE.

Comments are closed.