A COMFORTABLE TADPOLE TRIKE, A SHADY TRAIL TO RIDE AND ICE COLD WATER


A comfortable tadpole trike, a shady trail to ride and ice water … what more could a guy want? No, no women and no alcohol … we ain’t going there. Summer weather has arrived here in Indiana and it is hot and a bit humid. So my riding has mostly been on the Maumee Pathway which is my favorite trail to ride among those we have. It also happens to be the most shady so it really helps be more comfortable. It is only about 5.5 miles long  so we ride back and forth on it to get our daily milage in.  Lately for me that has been 20 to 30 miles depending upon how my knee joints are doing.

The Maumee Pathway runs mostly east and west along the Maumee River. Here is a map of it:

Maumee Pathway map

 

and a satellite image …

Maumee Pathway satellite image map

Ah yes, the life of Riley … kickin’ back, enjoyin’ retirement … got it made (in the shade) ! I just hope Riley doesn’t show up and ruin it all. I really can’t think of what else I could ask for … maybe this ? …

overstuffed chair trike

Yeah, I know … that’s going a little too far, huh? Well, ya’ can’t blame a guy for trying. Besides, it’s motorized so that disqualifies it. But it is a tadpole trike!

Here are a few pictures of the Maumee Pathway:

shady trail

Now I ask ya, doesn’t that look inviting … especially on a hot summer day? Actually this

picture doesn’t show all that much shade. Some places (much of it in fact) is quite shady.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Riding along thru a shaded trail like this is great indeed, but it is not without a downside. I am talking about dealing with insects … especially mosquitoes and deer flies. If you stop the mosquitoes find you quickly and are relentless. Riding along at least 6 mph or faster normally remedies the problem with these critters. Not so with deer flies as they can fly much faster. You either have to ride like the wind as they say or do what I do … keep your eyes open for them and make sure they don’t land and bite. Their bite hurts and continues to. Swelling often occurs in the bite area. They ain’t no fun at all.

New Haven Trail from N. River Rd

new haven rivergreenway trail

And here is a video I made up last year in early Spring when no leaves were yet on the trees (consequently there was very little shade).

I hope you have at least one place you can ride to escape the hot sun and humidity. Be sure to keep hydrated regardless of where you ride. And …

ENJOY THE RIDE!

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on June 27, 2014, in safety, tadpole trikes, tips, videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on A COMFORTABLE TADPOLE TRIKE, A SHADY TRAIL TO RIDE AND ICE COLD WATER.

Comments are closed.