WATER, A NECESSITY OF LIFE


There is no more important drink on the face of the earth than water. And there is nothing healthier to drink than water. Sadly, most of us don’t drink nearly as much water as we should. It is said that we should consume half of our body weight in ounces of water each and every single day. That is a lot of water! Someone who weighs 180 pounds should be drinking 90 ounces of water a day. Someone who weighs 280 pounds should be drinking 140 ounces a day. Drinking a sufficient amount of water not only keeps us properly hydrated but it helps flush toxins out of the body. Lots of people think it is okay to drink other types of liquids … soft drinks, coffee, tea, fruit juices, etc. in place of water, but it just ain’t so. Actually we need to be very careful consuming any other liquids of any kind … limiting them considerably and mostly drinking water. My wife and I personally seldom drink anything but water. It is not only much healthier but it saves a lot of money. And once you wean yourself off of whatever ever other drinks you are addicted to you won’t miss them at all. In fact, if you try drinking one of them you might find you don’t even care much for it anymore.

When we go riding we need to have a good supply of water along. Different people use different means of carrying it. Some just use the common inexpensive plastic water bottles. Some use insulated plastic water bottles. Some use a bladder system with a tube to drink from. Then there are those of us who use metal water bottles … either aluminum or stainless steel. I personally don’t like drinking out of plastic or aluminum. I use stainless steel and love it as there is absolutely no taste from the container. I have tried various plastic water bottles including the insulated ones. It is true they outperform just a plain plastic bottle but as far as their boast of keeping drinks cold for many hours … ha … not hardly! I would fill mine clear full of ice cubes then top it off with water. It would last 2 to 3 hours at the most. My riding friends had the exact same experience using them. Then we discovered the stainless steel water bottles made by Thermos. They work great! I fill it with ice cubes and top it off with water and it will last 2 – 3 days. Of course, it all depends upon the weather conditions and exposure to the direct sunlight. These bottles are available in a few colors besides the normal stainless steel appearance. I advice against getting anything other than the normal stainless steel type as the colored ones will absorb the sunshine and the contents won’t last as long as far as staying cold.

I know some people don’t want cold water … just room temperature. And I know they say it is healthier to drink water at room temperature, but I like ice water. I can’t stand drinking warm water. There are other brand of stainless steel water bottles besides Thermos but I caution you about their quality. A friend bought another brand and it doesn’t work nearly as good as keeping the water cold as long. Of course, that is just one other brand and I certainly can’t speak for all the others as far as how they do. The Thermos brand comes in two sizes as far as I am aware of. There is an 18 ounce size and a 24 ounce size. I have one 18 ounce and two 24 ounce bottles. I don’t care nearly as much for the 18 ounce as I do the 24 ounce. This is what the 24 ounce looks like:

Thermos SS water bottle

As far as water bottle holders I have tried a few different ones but I really like the plastic one I use now. It is low cost yet it does a great job. The one I use is a Origin 8.

origin 8 water bottle holder

I bought mine at a local bike shop (LBS) and I always encourage support of your LBS

available thru EBAY

$7.95 with free shipping

I have found that hitting a really bad bump the water bottles can be jarred out of the holders so to be safe I use an elastic wristband such as this:

wristband

water bottle in holder with elastic band

Anyway, I can’t over emphasize the importance of staying properly hydrated. Be sure you have plenty of water along with you.

plenty of water

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on July 25, 2014, in misc., safety. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.