RIDING WITH POOR EYESIGHT


just had glaucoma surgery recently and so I thought I might write about riding with poor eyesight. I am not riding right now as I am not supposed to do much of anything for a week. And actually my eyesight is still quite good at this point in time so this doesn’t apply to me. However, I do know a couple of gals who ride tadpole trikes and this does apply to one of them. They always ride together and one is always following directly behind the other. They wear two way radios so they can talk to each other as they ride.  The one following has poor vision and is dependent upon the one leading to help her “see” to be able to ride safely. She can see the trike directly ahead of her sufficiently but beyond that she needs help. The one leading is always instructing the one following as to what to do … turning, slowing, stopping, hazards to be aware of, etc. This system seems to work out well for them. They are both in their early 70s I think. One was in the army and the other one was in the navy. One flies an  army flag on her trike and the other flies a navy flags on her trike. Every time I see them I have to admire them for this friendship and dedication on the part of the leader to help her friend.

2 trikes riding together in single file

No, this isn’t a picture of them. It is just a picture  which I found online of two gals  riding in single file … one following the other.  They obviously are not in their 70s. 🙂

I don’t know of anyone else doing anything like this, but I am sure there are others. Of course, another option would be for both to be riding a tandem trike, but I am sure this gal enjoys the independence of riding her own trike. I know I would.

Regardless of the matter of eyesight certainly riding together with others can be quite beneficial in more ways than one. First the more cyclists there are riding together the more visible they are to others … particularly motorists who need all the help they can get in seeing us. Secondly we can help look out for each other by sharing important information such as “car ahead, car behind, car right, car left” or “bike back, bike up, bike right, bike left” or ” walker up” or “runner up”  … well you get the picture.

If you know of others with such vision impairments who have a means worked out where they are able to ride please feel free to comment and share it here.

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on August 11, 2014, in safety, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on RIDING WITH POOR EYESIGHT.

Comments are closed.