HEAD/NECK RESTS


Leaning back in a recumbent seat means that in order to see forward the rider needs to hold his/her head up. Depending upon the angle of the seat back it becomes more challenging to hold one’s head up to see forward. Leaning back at a 25 degree angle like a Catrike 700 or ICE VTX most riders say that they like having a head/neck rest. Then there are those like myself that just like using a head/neck rest. And there are those like myself who need to use a head/neck rest. For instance I have arthritis in my neck and it helps me immensely to use a head/neck rest. I would be most miserable trying to ride without one.

I have been saying “head/neck rest”. Perhaps I should try to explain further this terminology. A head rest is designed to offer support for the backside of one’s head. If the rider wears a helmet this may or may not present problems depending upon the design of the helmet and the height of the headrest. That is where a neck rest comes in. Manufacturers call what they provide a neck rest and not a head rest as they have to comply with the helmet laws when they manufacture a trike. A headrest can and often does complicate matters when helmets are involved. A neck rest eliminates this. That being said, in my opinion a neck rest in and of itself is not nearly as comfortable as a head rest. And without exception all of the neck rests trike manufacturers sell are quite uncomfortable … like leaning your neck back against a brick. I tried two of them Catrike offered before deciding to make my own. My homemade one I call a head/neck rest as it is large enough that both my head and my neck rest against it. And it is super soft and very comfortable. I don’t understand why trike manufacturers don’t and won’t offer something like what I made. It seems so ridiculous to me that theirs is so stiff (hard) and unforgiving. Here is a picture of my head/neck rest.

my headrest

There are other sources of headrests besides the ones the trike manufacturers sell. Probably the one most popular is Krispy Steve’s known as the Finer Recliner

Krispy Steve's headrest

These are most definitely a great improvement over what the manufacturers offers. I still prefer mine though as it is even more comfortable. Mine is made out of 4 inch thick foam … considerably more than any other head/neck rests I have seen.

A head or neck rest should be fully adjustable … in height, angle, and able to be moved forward or backwards. Not everyone likes or wants a head or neck rest positioned to where they use it full time. Some prefer to have it positioned back a little ways so that they can ride without being in contact with it unless they choose to do so by leaning their head back just a enough to make contact.

Below is a picture of several neck rests available for various brands of trikes:

neckrests for various trikes

You can check out what is available for various trikes HERE and  HERE. So whether you like a head or neck rest or not is a personal choice. They are available.

By the way, the ones that come from Krispy Steve are not only more comfortable, but they are less money than the ones that come from the trike manufacturers. Below is his current price list.

Model 1.  Stock CURVE neck rest to fit the stock Catrike mount hardware…………………………………………..$75.00

Model 2.  CURVE kits: (fit mesh seat models only)

•  Catrikes – “L” or “T” tower, CURVE neck rest, mtb stem………………………………………………………..$95.00

•  ICE trikes – “L” tower, CURVE neck rest, stem……………………………………………………………………$95.00

•  Greenspeed – “T” tower, CURVE neck rest, stem, shim

•  HP trikes – “L” tower, CURVE neck rest, stem, .75″OD shim……………………………………………………..$95.00

•  Trident trikes – longer “T” tower, CURVE neck rest, stem……………………………………………………….$96.00

•  Custom kits…………………………………………………………………………………………………….on request
✔ All towers and side mount tubes come with end caps.
✔ Custom tube lengths are available for special applications.

•  Custom colored stem.  Also stronger then the stock stem.  Specify color………………………………Add $15.00

Model 3.  CURVE kits:  (fits mesh seats only).  Specify trike mfg and model for proper sizing……………………..$130.00
Not recommended for Catrikes unless you are 6’2″ and taller.

Side Mount Kit for Catrikes – “L” tube, mtb stem, Topeak bottle cage mount……………………………………….$53.00

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on August 13, 2014, in accessories, tadpole trikes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on HEAD/NECK RESTS.

Comments are closed.