DON’T YA JUST HATE IT?


Now I ask ya … don’t ya just hate it when the manufacturer makes changes which in your opinion take away from what they previously offered? Microsoft immediately comes to mind when this question is asked. I started using computers back with Windows 95. Of all the operating systems Microsoft has produced over the years the very best in design and function in my opinion was Windows 98. Other that the stability issue I thought it was by far the best. It makes absolutely no sense to me to create good practical features and take them away. It is even worse when replacing them with features that are not nearly as good as what they had before. As time went by I got more and more disappointed in Microsoft’s operating systems to where I don’t care to use any of them anymore. I switched to Linux and love it. But I am not here to discuss computers and operating systems.

What I am here to talk about is tadpole trikes. I was just looking at Catrike’s new mesh seat. When I got my 2013 Catrike Trail frame under warranty last summer (my 2009 frame developed a crack alongside a weld) Catrike sent a new mesh seat along for it. Since the frame had changed to a folding type seat back they no longer used the original mesh seat like my 2009 model had. I tried using the new mesh seat but Catrike had removed the large “pocket” in the back of it which is where I keep my tools. I don’t know why they removed it as there certainly is no physical reason. There is room for it. Anyway, it didn’t take me long to remove their new mesh seat and put my old mesh seat on the 2013 frame. Now I have my large storage pocket back to use. And, yes, the old mesh seat works just fine on the folding seat frame. Of course, I don’t know what I am going to do if my old mesh seat ever wears out and requires replacement. I will have no choice but to put the newer one on since that is all Catrike offers. Needless to say, I am not a happy camper over this.

I have long been a believer in the approach … “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!”  Unfortunately there is a trend to change products just to change them. I also believe in the saying … “Design should follow function and not trend/” I think Volkswagen had the right approach in the beginning. They didn’t make many changes over the years and those changes they made were improvements. Of course, they did not stick to that philosophy, but went the way of most of the rest of the industry. Well, I know talking about all this won’t change anything. I reckon I am just venting. Yep, I hate it when something I really liked is taken away and replaced with something which is not as good as what they offered before. (Sometimes it is just taken away and there is nothing offered to replace it.) Does anybody else feel/think this way? I reckon there is nothing we the consumer can do about it. We can only get what is being offered and manufacturers can pretty much do whatever they want. I guess we will just have to do our best to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’ 

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on August 18, 2014, in construction/design, misc., tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on DON’T YA JUST HATE IT?.

Comments are closed.