JUST SINGIN’ AND RIDIN’ IN THE RAIN


singing in the rain

Some folks talk (or sing) about singing and dancing in the rain, but I’m here to talk about riding in the rain. That is not always something that is easy to sing about or during. Personally I don’t care to get caught out riding in the rain. Oh, it can be refreshing sure enough if it is a hot day. Still getting wet isn’t my idea of an enjoyable ride. I especially don’t like getting my footwear wet and having to get it dried out before the next day when I want to ride again. The same is true of my trike’s seat and headrest.

Most of my riding is on trails so I don’t have to deal with all that much cars, trucks, buses, etc. Riding in the rain on streets and roads presents a extra concern as visibility is greatly reduced making for considerable danger for the cyclist.

If I happen to be riding out on one of our local trails falling rain oftentimes makes for a muddy mess on parts of the trail. That definitely isn’t any fun riding thru mud. And the mud I am talking about is nasty mud as it is silt deposited from the rivers when they flood. It has dried up on the trails but when it gets wet again … yuucccckkkkkk! It is nasty smelly stuff. And it sure makes a big mess of my trike and is very difficult to clean off.

Another thing that seems to happen when trying to ride in the rain the rain water gets into my eyes and makes for a miserable time. Nope, I usually try to find shelter when it is raining and hope it passes by and I can continue on without dealing with it. I try to watch the weather forecast and weather radar to avoid dealing with it as much as I can. Sometimes though I simply get caught out in it despite my attempts to avoid it. I guess I really am not into singing and riding in the rain after all. How about you? Do you ride in the rain and manage to sing along during it? Please feel free to comment.

One good thing about riding a tadpole trike in the rain is we don’t have this sort of thing to contend with …

down under 3

At least he indicates he is ok. Yeah, I am having a little fun with photo editing here. As for me I am going to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

(hopefully not in the rain)

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on August 27, 2014, in riding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on JUST SINGIN’ AND RIDIN’ IN THE RAIN.

Comments are closed.