ELECTRIC RECUMBENT TRIKE … “RACE WOOD”


electric screwdriver powered recumbent trike 2

Well, it is a trike and it is a recumbent, but that is about the end of commonly used descriptions for this vehicle. It is not human powered … there are no pedals or anything else such as hand powered. Nope, this is powered by a Bosch portable electric screwdriver. It has a top speed of 15mph that lasts for ten minutes on a single charge.

It is mostly constructed of custom bent plywood and aluminium other than the wheels, handlebars and steering linkage.

Here is a short write-up about this vehicle:

The Rennholz was designed and prototyped during the space of ten weeks. Created by Jirka Wolff, Andreas Patsiaouras and Marcel Heise, a team of German student designers for the annual “Akkuschrauberrennen” competition held by the HAWK University of Applied Sciences and Arts in Hildesheim, Germany, the Rennholz presents a “serious vehicle concept [for] e-mobility.” The Rennholz has been specially designed to take part in the HAWK Hildesheim’s bi-annual race. Rennholz means “race wood” in English.

electric screwdriver powered recumbent trike

electric screwdriver powered recumbent trike 4

electric screwdriver powered recumbent trike 5

electric screwdriver powered recumbent trike 3

electric screwdriver powered trike frame

electric screwdriver powered rear wheel

I know absolutely nothing about this trike other than what I have shared here so please don’t ask me questions about it as I can’t answer them. This is just something I came across and thought I would share here on this blog. HERE is an article I found online about it.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on September 4, 2014, in misc., other recumbent trikes, tadpole trikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on ELECTRIC RECUMBENT TRIKE … “RACE WOOD”.

Comments are closed.