Q and A


Questions and Answers … Yep, you’ll have that … questions that is. And that brings me to my next point … are you an ambassador for tadpole trikes or more of an embarrassment? We are going to be asked questions as tadpole trikes are neat and catch the attention of others. I will be the first to admit that some questions we get asked are rather ridiculous and a bit frustrating to deal with. Probably one of the worst is … “Is that thing comfortable?” I mean … there we are sitting down leaning back looking like we could easily fall asleep and someone asks that question. I will admit that I have not always been a good ambassador for tadpole trikes in responding to some questions I get asked. Sometimes the right and proper answer does not always come to me immediately. Sometimes I have answered the question with a question. For example, when asked, “Is that thing comfortable? I have come back with “Does it look comfortable?” But I think the best answer to that question is simply to say “Yes, it is very comfortable”.

It is all so easy to fire back quick answers to some questions. However this may not always be the appropriate thing to do. It is not that the answers are incorrect or untruthful. It is more of a matter of being a good ambassador vs. being sort of a smart aleck. Here are some examples:

Q) How fast will that thing go?  A) As fast as you can pedal it.

Q) How do you steer that?  A) With the handlebars.

Q) How much does one of those cost?  A)  More that the car you drive. … or … If you have to ask you probably can’t afford one.

Q) Where can I get one of those?  A) From a store that sells them.

Do we take the time and put forth the effort to talk to people and answer their questions about tadpole trikes? Or do we give one of these quick answers to get on our way knowing that we were not really helpful and certainly not being a good ambassador?  Depending upon the questions asked it usually doesn’t take all that long to give a sufficient helpful answer. Most people are really all that serious about getting deep into discussion about tadpole trikes. Most people are satisfied with relatively short answers as long as they are helpful and politely answered. For instance, when someone asks me how much a tadpole trike costs I usually tell them that they can be purchased starting at around $700 up to about $12,000. If they want to know more beyond that I take the time to talk to them more. Most people are satisfied with that answer.

Tadpole trikes are becoming more and more popular with each passing day. With the sub $1000 offerings more and more people are buying them. People are discovering that they can ride in extreme comfort and have lots of fun at the same time. Hey, maybe we will start seeing so many trikes that we will want to start answering the question about comfort differently to discourage them from getting one. 🙂

Hey, seriously … we do need to be good ambassadors out there.

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on September 9, 2014, in tadpole trikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Concerning the “how much does it cost?” question, I usually say it is about the same as a similar quality bicycle, which isn’t too far off.

    • I don’t agree with that but that’s okay. Bicycles are far cheaper to manufacture and they sell more of them so they are lower cost than a comparable tadpole trike. Unless we are talking about tadpole trike entry level products and the quality that comes with them I don’t think there is any comparison. It is true that you can spend $6000 … $8000 for a bicycle but they are very much a specialty. I would say that a tadpole trike costs about twice as much as a comparable bicycle.