ELECTRIC MOTORIZED E-TRIKE WITH REVERSE


Go-Hub … is a kit which can be purchased to motorize a tadpole trike. What is unique about it is that it offers “REVERSE”. That’s something we talk about, but this is the first I have actually heard of it. You can check it out in more detail HERE.

gohubkit700

  • Brushless Crystalyte motors are silent, powerful and more efficient; no brushes to replace and 750 peak (500 continuous) watts of power move you over virtually any terrain
  • No external connectors to fail, all connections are internal
  • Gearless motors have no gears to make noise or wear out
  • Bicycle kit carries up to a 250# rider, Trike kit carries up to a 300# rider)
  • Trike kit includes reverse
  • Tool kit included
  • Your choice of twist throttle (motorcycle style), or thumb throttle 
  • Throttle mounted power gauge tells you how much charge is left in the batteries
  • Motor delivers power from a dead stop – other brands require you to pedal first
  • Uses 3 (included) model BP1212 top quality B+B brand batteries for 12ah capacity at 36 volts (Sealed Lead Acid)
  • Top quality Soneil brand 2-amp charger provides fast charges while protecting batteries for extended battery life
  • Battery bags include key switch to prevent unauthorized use
  • Choice of small or large battery bag.  Large bag provides room to store the charger on-board
  • Super durable double-wall alloy rim with stainless steel spokes, and “Slime” filled self-sealing tube ensures you’re never left stranded due to tire or wheel failures
  • Optional safety brake levers automatically turn off motor when you hit the brakes
  • Available in 24″ or 26″ configurations
  • Requires 3.75″ width between front axle mounting holes, 3″ width between forks for motor to fit and .4″ (10mm) diameter axle mounting holes in the forks

Now that I am looking into this I just found another one which claims to offer reverse. HERE is a link to it.

And then I found … How to make a hub motor reverse.

How to install an e-trike kit.

So far what I am finding it all DIY approaches. So I am wondering … does anyone manufacture an e-trike with reverse? I will let you know if I find out anything. If you know anything about the matter please let me and others know by commenting or emailing me. Thanks.

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on September 12, 2014, in electric motorized trikes, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Why use lead acid batteries when battery technology has gone far beyond and provides a much lighter weight alternative as well as large numbers of charge cycles (see Arctrike notes below for an example)?

    • You’ll get no argument out of me. I fully agree. The only good thing I can say about lead acid batteries is that they are a lot cheaper. Anyway, I am just reporting about the product … not endorsing it. Lead acid would not be my choice if I were making the product.