YIKES! WHERE DID HE COME FROM?


few days ago while riding out in a rural area with a friend as we were going by a certain house along the road I suddenly got quite startled. I try to keep my eye on the rear view mirrors more so while riding on streets or roads than I do on a trail since there are motor vehicles coming up from behind. I had just looked in the left side rear view mirror and all was normal. I didn’t see anything but empty road behind me. And then all of a sudden I saw something like this in my left side mirror …

german shepherd 2

… a big German Shepherd dog running along and he was already quite close and getting closer quickly. Needless to say I was a bit concerned for my personal safety. Being seated only about 9 inches or so off of the pavement means that we are far more vulnerable than we would be on an upright bicycle. As it turned out he was a very friendly dog and just coming out to greet us. WHEW!!! That was a relief. He ran along with us for a little ways before I told him he needed to go home. Much to my surprise and delight he did. Good doggie! He even minds strangers.

There was another large friendly dog that used to live at that same house. He would also come running out to greet us, but he wouldn’t go home upon our telling him to. He would run along with us for a couple of miles before stopping at another house to visit. I don’t understand people allowing their pets to wander off like that. I would not be surprised if he eventually got killed out on the road.

One dog that comes to mind is also quite large. The first time I encountered him he came running right up to me from the side. I sensed that he was friendly so I stopped to interact with him. The next thing I knew he was up on my lap. That was a bit awkward and most certainly unexpected. His feet were muddy so he messed up my clothes and arms. He definitely was way too large to be a lap dog.

There are other dogs we sometimes encounter which are not so friendly and we are always concerned about when they are allowed to run free and come charging at us. Fortunately we have not yet had any problems, but it is scary. I used to carry a can of Halt repellent spray with me and kept it quite handy. I never used it, but it gave me some sense of comfort. My one friend I ride with told me I should never use it on a charging dog as all it will do is make him mad and more of a problem to deal with. He used to be a mailman and the post office issued this same brand of spray to them. The postal delivery people I have spoke to have confirmed what my friend says. So I no longer carry it with me.

As I said, so far we have not had any issues occur. Dealing with dogs that come running at you is not my idea of a fun time. I can’t out run them so it is a concern. I want to safely and unimpeded be able to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on September 15, 2014, in misc., riding, safety and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on YIKES! WHERE DID HE COME FROM?.

Comments are closed.