ENJOYMENT VS. TORTURE


would assume that most of us ride a tadpole trike for enjoyment and the added benefit of exercise. When riding crosses over from enjoyment to torture I quickly lose interest. As many of you know who have read my blog before I have knee joint problems. I can’t do much weight bearing activities. Riding my tadpole trike is something I am able to do since it isn’t weight bearing. However, if I push too hard on the pedals or try to ride too fast it causes me much discomfort in my knee joints. I have been riding with two friends for years now. We ride together 6 days a week most of the time. Recently I told them that I can no longer ride with them as I can’t ride their pace anymore. If I ride a pace I am comfortable with I do fine. I can usually ride for several hours, but if I overdo it I pay a high price and not only do my knee joints let me know it but my lower legs hurt too as the knee joint pain travels down my legs. And it doesn’t go away for several hours … sometimes it even last all night long and causes me problems trying to sleep. It is just not worth it!

body aches

We each know our own bodies and our potential better than anyone else. We should be careful not to overdo it. One thing I always keep in mind when riding on a linear route … however far I ride I have the same distance to ride to get back to where I started. If I have already ridden 20 miles out and my body is speaking to me and I still have 20 miles to go back I will no doubt regret riding that far in the one direction. If we are riding with others their potential will probably be different than ours. So we should keep in mind that if we are riding together with others we could find ourselves in trouble if we are going along with what they are doing and not paying attention to what is going on with our own bodies.

????????????????????????????????????????

It is far wiser to cease and desist  than get to where we are hurting or we are just plain worn out … or both. Tomorrow is another day and we all want to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

exhausted feet

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on October 3, 2014, in riding, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on ENJOYMENT VS. TORTURE.

Comments are closed.