RAIN RAIN GO AWAY — I WANT TO RIDE TODAY


 

rain radar

Yep, it’s raining! And that doesn’t equate to being a happy camper. We don’t need the rain at this time. There is rain in the forecast for the next 4 days. Of course, as always it is subject to change and often does. But right now it is raining and that means I am stuck here at home trying to come up with something to write about on this blog. I would much rather be out riding while the weather otherwise is ideal. Winter isn’t far off and that usually means that riding is curtailed considerably.

SDC10823

Last year we had such a severe winter (global warming ya’ know 🙂 ) that I brought my trike inside the living room and set it up on a trainer so I could ride it in the house. I enjoy watching good ol’ western (cowboy) movies (and other genre as well) on YouTube so what better way to watch them … pedaling and getting exercise burning calories vs. sitting in a recliner chair getting neither. Of course, I can also pedal along while watching a video of riding on a trail. Sitting right in front of a big screen TV hooked up to a computer which is connected to the internet easily affords me all sorts of options. With a video of trail riding playing it is like I am right there riding on the trail. That isn’t as neat as actually being there but, hey, it is still rather neat. I don’t know what the weather is going to do this winter. I much prefer to ride outside so I am hoping this winter will allow it. I don’t care to bring my trike in and then take it out so I can ride outside only to have to bring it back inside again. It is too much of a hassle to do so. I have to have my wife’s help and we have to turn the trike over sideways to get it thru the doorway and onto into the living room. (I have never understood why people who design houses seldom seem to take into consideration what is involved in getting items in and out of the house. They seem to build them in such a way that it makes this a whole lot more difficult than it should and could be.)

Speaking of rain and the fact that I am stuck inside trying to come up with something to write here … I am sure many of you have heard this joke before, but for those who haven’t I thought I would share it …

**********

A Russian couple was walking down the street in St. Petersburg the other night, when the man felt a drop hit his nose. “I think it’s raining,” he said to his wife.

“No, that felt more like snow to me,” she replied. “No, I’m sure it was just rain, he said.” Well, as these things go, they were about to have a major argument about whether it was raining or snowing. Just then they saw a minor communist party official walking toward them. “Let’s not fight about it,” the man said, “let’s ask Comrade Rudolph whether it’s officially raining or snowing.”

As the official approached, the man said, “Tell us, Comrade Rudolph, is it officially raining or snowing?”

“It’s raining, of course,” he answered and walked on. But the woman insisted: “I know that felt like snow!” To which the man quietly replied: “Rudolph the Red knows rain, dear!”

**********

Sorry, I couldn’t resist! Hey, guess what! The rain is clearing out temporarily … long enough I could get a short ride in I think … soooooo … I will get out of here and give it a try. I hope we can all ….

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on October 15, 2014, in riding, tadpole trikes, tadpolerider blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well did you get your ride in?? lol Did a 32 mile ride yesterday and had a head wind of 35/40 mph.. But was a neat ride on two rails to trails… near buffalo rain today and as you said at least the next 4 days.. ugh… Happy trails to you… DynoDon..

    • I didn’t ride Monday, but I got a 12 mile ride in Tuesday between the rain showers. Today (Wednesday) I got a 9 mile ride in before it rained. Both days it rained lightly on me but not enough to get me very wet.