DEFUNCT TADPOLE TRIKES


Defunct … by definition means “no longer existing or functioning”. Like most products and manufacturers tadpole trikes come and go. I could not begin to name all of the various manufacturers which that is true of. Off of the top of my head I can only think of a few. I have known several but they no longer come to mind. To name more I would have to research the matter. Some of them were pretty good trikes and it was sad to see them disappear. Some of them needed to disappear. 🙂 Some may still be in business but just don’t manufacture tadpole trikes anymore.

To the best of my knowledge among those which  are no longer manufactured are:
ActionBent, Berserker, BTR, Cycle Genius, Dalli Cycles, Performance Hand Cycles, and Triclops. I am sure there are many which are not even known by most sources so there is not any place to read about them.

There are some tadpole trikes which are simply listed as “not in production”. Redmount is one such trike. Several others are listed as “prototype” which I assume means that they are not in production. I am relatively certain that many will ever get beyond this stage.

One well known trike, ActionBent, although no longer available lives on more less thru Performer Trikes as they are the ones which produced ActionBent. I have seen a picture of a tadpole trike manufactured in China which looks identical to a Catrike. I don’t think that is legal but you know how that goes.

Murray’s Trike Links is a good resource for looking up trikes.

Yes, trike manufacturers and models come and go as do many other products. There are still many out there and a few more starting up all the time. Tadpole trikes are growing in popularity so there is no reason to think things will deteriorate in the overall picture. Yeppur, I think it is safe to say that we can all …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on November 19, 2014, in tadpole trikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on DEFUNCT TADPOLE TRIKES.

Comments are closed.