FRAME WARRANTIES


When it comes to manufacturer warranties on the frames of their tadpole trikes you will find they differ considerably … anywhere from 1 year to a lifetime warranty. I am only aware of 5 trike manufacturers which offer a lifetime warranty on the frames … Alize, Challenge, SteintrikeSun and TerraTrike. If you know of any others please leave a comment or email me to inform me. I just found out that Catrike no longer offers a lifetime warranty on their frames which is really disappointing.

Keep in mind that if you make modifications to a trike it may void the manufacturer warranty.

I want to state upfront that the information I am providing here is correct to the best of my knowledge. However, it is possible that there may be error in what I am stating as I found this a difficult subject to research and find information on as some manufacturers just don’t seem to offer the disclosure of it. I have even emailed a few manufacturers to ask them what their frame warranty is but none have replied back. That being said here are what I think are the frame warranties offered by some manufacturers: (Those that have no information I could not find anything on.)

Alize  lifetime warranty

Azub  10 years

Catrike  5 years

Challenge  lifetime warranty

Edge  10 years

Greenspeed 10 years

HP Velotecknik 10 years now (used to be 7 years)

ICE 10 years

KMX  5 years

Logo

Performance

Ponderosa 10 years

Sidewinder

Steintrike  lifetime warranty

Sun  lifetime warranty

TerraTrike  lifetime warranty

Trident  5 years

Tripendo

Windcheetah  1 year? (this is not certain … it is just one from a 3rd party source I found) (If it is true it seems rather ridiculous that the most expensive trike has the worst warranty in the industry)

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on November 21, 2014, in tadpole trikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi Steve, Just to let you know, I purchased two Catrikes this year and noticed that the warranty is 5 years. It seems that Catrike changed from lifetime to 5 years in the 2012 models.

    • I had not heard or read this before. Even now as I try searching online about it I find some sources saying it is still lifetime warrenty and fewer still saying that it is indeed a 5 year warrantly. I assume that the 5 year warranty is correct. Thanks for sharing this.

      • Hi Steve,
        This is what’s in the current Owner’s manual:

        Catrike Limited Warranty
        Big Cat HPV, LLC warrants Catrike tricycle frames and steering components against defects in materials or manufacturing for 5- years, while owned by the original retail purchaser. The limited 5-year warranty on the frame and steering components does not apply to the paint/finish; this is covered under the limited 1-year warranty. Warranty coverage on Catrike proprietary components (excluding tires, tubes and cables) extends for 1-year while owned by the original retail purchaser. Warranty coverage of non- proprietary components will be covered by the warranty stated by their original manufacturers.
        Warranty coverage is conditioned upon the tricycle being assembled and adjusted correctly, being operated under normal conditions and use, and being properly maintained. Proof of purchase is required for any claims made under this warranty. The warranty is valid for the original purchaser only and is non-transferable.

        When I was shopping for trikes, I did get misinformation from certain shops about the Catrikes warranty. Seems that Catrike just changed the info in 2012 without much dealer notification. Still fantastic trikes though. I’ll probably get another and build it up for off road fun.

  2. It seems that also HP Velotechnic now gives 10 years frame warranty on all their trike models. The warranty period was shorter in the first years and it is for me unclear whether the new ten-year warranty also covers these older models or not . Probably not. There are yet no HP Velotechnic trike models older than 9 years, Scorpion Aug 2005, Scorpion fx Aug 2006, Scorpion fs 20″ Aug 2008.

  1. Pingback: COLD WELD=WELD FAILURE | Tadpole Rider