WHAT IS YOUR ANGLE?


ANGLE FINDER

Sure you’ve got an angle! I won’t go so far as to say all God’s children have an angle, but if you ride a tadpole trike I am most certain of it. Tadpole trikes are not called recumbent for nothing, ya know. The word recumbent means “laid back” or “reclined”. That is part of what makes a tadpole trike so comfortable. I like to kid about it saying that “the hardest part about riding a tadpole trike is trying to stay awake”.

So again I ask you … what is your angle? By now everyone should have figured out that I am talking about the seat back angle … how far you are reclined. The seat back angle on tadpole trikes vary considerably. Some are quite upright while others are very reclined. And there are those who prefer one over the other or somewhere in between. Sitting very upright is a matter of better visibility and comfort for some. Being very reclined is a matter of being more streamlined so one can go faster as well as being more comfortable as well. That may sound rather strange to say that both claim more comfort. I won’t get into the middle of that discussion as it probably wouldn’t be wise to do so. I will just assert the well known saying … “differnet strokes for different folks”.

Anyway my understanding is that the range of inclination for tadpole trikes goes from about 75 degrees to about 25 degrees. That is quite a difference … 50 degrees difference  to be exact. Most trikes are somewhere in between those numbers. Mine, for instance, is 45 degrees. I like my seat angle, but I wish I could recline on back another 10 degrees. I have no desire to be up any more than I am now however. There may come a time when I will want to sit more upright, but for now I enjoy being relined. But at my age I am concerned about falling asleep if I get too comfortable.  🙂

Afterall I do want to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on November 24, 2014, in construction/design, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Steve about 55 % works for me..