STEINTRIKE’S WILD WAVE FULL SUSPENSION TILTING TRIKE


steintrike wild wave

Germany’s Steintrike has come out with a leaning trike (Wild Wave) which is full suspension. Although they are reported to offer it starting this past summer. I have noticed that there doesn’t seem to be much available about it and the one and only YouTube video of it is listed as private so it isn’t available for viewing. Steintrike has a WEBPAGE which mentions the trike but, again, the trike doesn’t seem to be available at this time even though they show it available June 2014.  The webpage is confusing as they show clearly “Wild Wave”, but the pictures they have posted are all of the Wild One model which is full suspension, but doesn’t lean. This picture above is the only one of this model I have been able to find online.

This is posted on Facebook:

“The Steintrikes Wild Wave (WW) fully suspended leaning tadpole trike is now available for $4695 and orders are being taken (with late Summer delivery expected).

Pending final verification, the mesh seat as well as the FRP ($150 upgrade including seat pad) seat works on the Wild Wave. The WW is also able to be set up with either 18″ (355mm) or 16″ (349 mm) wheel fronts and either 20″ or 26″ rear.

In other news, Streintrikes now also offers carbon fiber seats – upgrading from the base model mesh seat is $595 ($790 with seat pad).

Thanks and regards,
-Ethan Davis
Steintrikes NA
Wildfire HPV, LLC”

Another online source shares this:

“The weight of the mounted trike is 19,6 kg (43lbs), the seat height is 30 cm (12″) and the height of the bottom bracket is 43-48 cm (17-19″). It can tilt up to 45°. The front axle has 90 mm (3.5”) suspension travel. If you drive on one side by a pothole, the suspension travel is monstrous and the 18 “front wheel overcomes as in sleep the 30 cm deep holes. Who drives mainly asphalt, you will also float above everything, ala hovercraft and who likes motorcycling with its maximum tilt in curves, who will love the Wild Wave.”

I think they had a few problems in either translation or their use of English, but hopefully you can get the gist of it.

This looks to be an interesting design so I am hopeful that there will be more news on it soon. I don’t understand what is going on. I guess only time will tell the story on this matter. Meanwhile I am going to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

 

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on December 12, 2014, in tadpole trikes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. garry503 Garry James

    Thanks, Steve. I found about the same thing. This is very perplexing to me. Ethan asked that I deal with Coventry Bicycle Shop in Portland, but since the death of Marilyn, the owner, they are still closed. Ethan emailed me, saying if Coventry could not help me, that I could deal with him. I checked yesterday on the internet, and Coventry remains closed. Now, what your article says, the wheel size for the Wild Wave carving recumbent tadpole tricycle is different than what I was told. I wanted 2-20’s up front, and a 26″ aft. Next, a picture recently appeared showing the Wild Wave with 2-18’s forward, and a new 29″ aft! I would like more accurate information. I am considering going to Ethan and Bike-Revolution to see what is up.

    Then again, I am starting to consider focusing on a different trike, maybe a Catrike.

    Thank you for your courteous help. (Garry)

  2. I too am quite interested in the Wild Wave as a second trike. I would need to test drive one. Given how long this bike has been in development and testing there is very litle about it, Infact the videos that were posted about it have all vanished.

  3. I’ve been waiting for the Wild Wave to become available. My electric assist velomobile is based on a Catrike and too fast to be without suspension. Steintrike became my first choice for a new chassis. I’d like to remain narrow for aerodynamics and maneuverability but would still like to be able to pull g’s without rolling over. The Wild Wave fit the bill. If you ever hear any news about it, please let me know.