WE ARE ALL DIFFERENT


Recently on Facebook a discussion came up about riding down in Florida in which I declined as I don’t care for the heat and humidity of Florida. I am far more comfortable riding in 40 degree temperatures than in 85 or more as is common down there.

7 day forecast compare

I have to laugh every time I read or hear someone talk about temperatures in the upper 60s as being terribly uncomfortable for them. They are talking about the temperature falling down to that and exclaiming how cold and miserable it is. I suppose that someone from Siberia would think the same thing about my saying that -20 F. is pretty cold. I reckon it is all a matter of perspective … based on what our bodies are used to.

It is said that we humans can adjust to just about any conditions. I don’t like the cold, but I can take it better than I can too much heat. I once did a little checking online to find the “perfect weather” year around. I found it, but it is nowhere near here where I live and I doubt very much if I could afford to live there. It would probably be pretty much impossible to make a living there for someone like myself relocating there. Quite honestly I no longer remember where it was. I only remember that it was a long way from Indiana.

The United States is a fairly large land mass and therefore has quite a range of weather at any one time.

us weather map

It is obvious that we are all different and what appeals to one person does not appeal to another person. What I like someone else doesn’t like and visa versa. I reckon we just have to accept that. I have to admit that I am probably more hardy than most others around here where I live. I am out riding quite comfortably dressed wearing the same clothes I wear in the summer time and I see people bundled up in 60 degree weather far more so than I bundle up in 10 degree weather. I usually wear a short sleeve shirt and a light jacket over it when it is what I consider cold. My body produces a lot of heat when I am exercising. I sweat easily. I have friends I ride with that rarely show any perspiration on their clothing while my clothing is soaking wet.

different strokes

Yep, we are all different and as it is said … it makes the world go around. So whether you live in Florida and like all that heat and humidity or in Siberia … we all need to just get along accepting our differences.  I promise not to laugh out loud if you tell me you think the high 60s is cold. Let’s all …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on January 1, 2015, in misc., rider comfort, riding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on WE ARE ALL DIFFERENT.

Comments are closed.