TAILLIGHTS


taillights

am sure most of us have noticed how difficult it is when it comes to shopping for over the counter medications such as cough syrup or pain killers. The selection has become so very massive and complex that it makes it difficult to make a selection. Even if you know what you want unless you are well acquainted with the layout of the products in the store where you are at you may struggle just trying to find it among all the many products on display. Well, the matter of taillights (and headlights) isn’t quite as bad, but it’s getting there. 🙂 Fortunately there are those who have researched and reported on their findings which can help. HERE is one such resource.

Planet Bike headlight and taillight

I personally have long used Planet Bike Super Flash taillights (and a Planet Bike headlight) as pictured above. The taillights are 1/2 watt and have excellent battery life. I use NiMH rechargeable batteries so that works out very well economically. That being said, if I were in the market for taillights (and headlights) today I would probably choose something else. Don’t get me wrong, I love what I have, but there are other offerings out there now that were not around years ago and the prices are surprisingly low … as low or even lower than what I paid originally for what I have now. And they are even brighter … a whole lot brighter. Of course, as is the case with so many things, most of them come from China and the price is quite low for those iterms. (We here in the United States have long been guilty of destroying our own nation while building up others, but that is another subject matter altogether.)

taillights on bike 2

Now that is bright!

I personally think that is way too much after dark. Keep in mind that after dark when around motorists it is not proper or safe to be too lit up as you can blind people which endangers them, yourself and possibly others. So if you are buying one of these super bright lights (taillights or headlights) you should be sure you buy one which you can dim down after dark. We need to be responsible and decent out there. The brightness these lights offer is great in the daytime … the brighter the better as far as being seen. My Planet Bike taillights are plenty bright after dark. I would not want anything any brighter at night. It is only in daylight that I would choose more “attention getting power” (brightness). Yes, in the daylight we need bright FLASHING taillights so others can see us … along with really good SAFETY FLAGS.

I think most people would tell you that I don’t appear to be too bright. 🙂 How about you? You aren’t too bright are you? I hope not.

Here are two of the top rated taillights being compared in this video:

And here are some other brands:

This man mentioned something I want to reiterate on. He basically said that the lights that were not as bright might be seen by someone who is paying attention, but he wants a light that gets the attention of those who perhaps are not paying attention. Now that makes good sense and something we should ponder over.

I ran across this deal and am sharing it HERE. These are among the top rated lights available and this is a pretty good price … at least at the time I wrote this it was selling at a good price (about $77). (When I checked it on Dec. 4, 2015 the price was less than $50.)

Cygolite headlight and taillight combo set

I see cyclists all the time riding around without lights or flags. Many of them don’t even have reflectors. To my way of thinking they are “an accident waiting to happen”. They are living dangerously! And if we are on a tadpole trike we are already a quite low profile with so we need help being seen. Be safe out there! Then we stand a better chance of being able to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on January 7, 2015, in accessories, safety, tadpole trikes, videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. May be it’s the best idea to simply not ride at night.