CRANKING IT UP HERE, BOSS!


130 tooth sprocket

For speed demons only. This may or may not apply to you. I can’t imagine riding a human powered vehicle with such a large chainring on it. This bike pictured above is said to be capable of 100 mph. I think I would have to bow out on that. Just call me chicken, but that ain’t for me. Notice the front forks appear to be turned around backwards. I assume that has something to do with more stability and better handling at high speed.

Can you imagine having a chainring like that on an already fast trike? I am not sure about the ground clearance, but then again I guess the distance is about the same as that on a bicycle. I have not measured it, but that is my guess. Hmmm, I am just envisioning what that would look like …

130 tooth chainring on Catrike 700

What do you think? It would be intolerable trying to go up hill, but oh those downhills! One thing is for sure … it most definitely would get some attention from folks who see it. In case you are wondering I created this picture. It is not an existing trike with the large chainring. I doubt if they exist (but I may be wrong).

One thought that comes to mind … this would make getting on and off the trike a bit more challenging and perhaps dangerous. One might lose the next generation if you get my point.

Well, I don’t think I will try it even if somebody does come up with such a trike. I am ready to go, but I don’t think I would care to go out of this world by going out of control on a fast downhill. 🙂 I have in mind to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on January 12, 2015, in misc., tadpole trikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s awesome, but where would I buy this?!? May just have to build a cnc machine and make my own 😦

  2. Most definitely any trike with an oversized sprocket is modified from the way the factory made it or it is homebuilt. Large sprockets are available. Some velomobiles have oversized sprockets in them. I have seen a couple of them. Again, they didn’t come that way from the factory. And one of the velomobiles I saw with an oversized sprocket was entirely homemade. It was so large that the chain had to switched between sprockets by hand as there is no way any derailleur would handle it. And that would be a problem on most any of these large sprockets.