FAST PAST FIFTY


No, I am not talking about 50 mph … not speed of travel, although ummmm, could be! Rather I am talking about age and the ability to still go fast as we age … 50 and well beyond. I am quite sure that the majority of us would readily admit that we have slowed down as we have aged. We can no longer do what we could when we were younger. Still there are a small number of us cycling who “still have it”. At least they say they do. I am in no position to argue the point. I will take their word for it. All I know is I am not among them. I am thankful I am still able to ride at whatever speed I can travel.

This subject matter came up thru a posting on a Facebook group I am a member of. HERE is a link to the webpage concerning this. In these pictures below I have no idea of the ages of these guys racing, but I show them simply to convey that people do race and go fast competing on tadpole trikes. Sometimes they even do pretty good against bicycles which is quite an accomplishment considering the extreme weight difference.

3 racers  ICE racer

TT Edge race

And many of us know who David Bruce is. Among other things he is the designer and builder of front wheel drive tadpole trikes.

David Bruce

I wrote an article on this blog about him and his trikes some time back. He raced bicycles for years and now he races tadpole trikes and does pretty good yet for his age. Take a look …

Many of us know who Steve Greene is. I don’t think he will mind my talking about him … especially in a positive light. Steve is just a few years younger than I am. Just under a year ago he purchased a Catrike 700 and has written extensively about it on his Trike Asylum blog.

Steve works hard to live healthy and keep in good physical condition. I applaud him for this. I tried to go the vegetarian route, but it wasn’t for me. I missed eating meats and certain other foods and got quite tired of eating vegetables, fruits and nuts only. Anyway, Steve says he has been able to get his 700 going at a pretty good clip. I am sure he would be the first to say that he isn’t the fastest rider around, but never the less compared to me and many others he flies.

If I were a single man with no responsibilities or concerns in life I would probably venture off on my trike touring the country burning a bunch of calories most days and hopefully ending up far more physically fit than I am now. For me I think that is what it would take to get me in better physical shape … a whole lot more exercise … all day long nearly everyday. And hopefully I too would (be able to) consider myself fast at 50 plus. Right now it is just a dream and fading away more and more as I continue to age. And right now as I sit here typing this it is continuing to snow outside and I am stuck here in the house. Oh to be somewhere that has decent weather and I could be out riding instead. Another dream which seems not to have much hope. Fast past 50? Well, I can dream anyway. And just as soon as some decent weather returns I plan on getting out there and do my best to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on February 16, 2015, in riding, tadpole trikes, videos. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on FAST PAST FIFTY.

Comments are closed.