FAT TAD – HOW QUAINT!


I love that name … FAT TAD … how quaint! The word quaint has various meanings. One of them is: “strange, peculiar, or unusual in an interesting, pleasing, or amusing way”. And that is the meaning here.

ICE trikes has their fat tad they have come out with recently, but Utah Trikes has been custom making various versions of them for several years now. Of course, they are probably best known for their quads. These go anywhere trikes are in demand so they now offer their “FAT TAD CRAWLER”.

When I first saw a picture of it I wondered what brand of trike it is. Since much of it doesn’t look like a trike I readily recognized I asked them. Here is what they said … they use the Sun EZ tadpole trike frame and they use their own seat, handlebars, rear end and wheels.

FAT TAD CRAWLER

fat tad right side 2

With 26 inch tires 4 inches wide and “a pressure range of 8 psi to 20 psi you can choose a super soft ride with LOTS of traction, or fill ’em up for fast road speeds. Don’t let the knobby-looking tread fool you, this trike is fast on the roads as well as out in the dirt” (their description in quotes).

http://www.utahtrikes.com/PROD-11619373.html

Detailed Specifications

Frame Material Cromo Steel / Aluminum Boom
Total Length 77 Inches
Total Width 34 Inches
Total Assembled Height 36 Inches
Ground Clearance 9 Inches
Seat Height 22 Inches
Country of Origin USA with imported components

This trike comes stock with a Shimano Alfine 8 speed internal hub. Optional for additional charge are NuVinci 360 CVP hub ($95) or Rohloff 14 speed internal hub ($1405). My choice would be the NuVinci 360. It comes stock with a 32 tooth sprocket up front, but there are two options available shown. There are lots of other custom options available you can order. It is my understanding that Utah Trikes does not charge anything extra for installation of these purchased options as long as you order them when they are building the trike they will be shipping to you. Right now they are offering this base $3000 trike for $2599.

fat tad front side

fat tad left side

fat tad rear

fat tad rear view 2

Shimano Alfine 8 speed rear hub on fat tad

Here is the $270 Metropolis Patterson crankset with 165 mm cranks option:

Metropolis front crank on fat tad

There is also the Schlumpf 27T/68 high speed drive available for $769 extra.

Here is the stock 32 tooth sprocket up front:

fat tad 32 tooth sprocket

One thing I have noticed is none of these fat trikes have fenders nor are they being made available at this point in time. If I had one I would most definitely want fenders on it. I don’t care to ride any kind of a cycle without fenders as I don’t like getting all slopped up with who knows what flying off of the tires.

Other manufacturers (TerraTrike, Azub, and Sun Seekers) have come out with a prototype of a Fat Trike which look interesting, but thus far they are not in production and available for purchase at the time of this writing.

Steve Greene has a great article posted on his Trike Asylum blog about Fat Trikes.

Having ridden my stock Catrike Trail off road several times I can tell you that a standard tadpole trike doesn’t do very well off road. I have never ridden a Fat Trike, but watching the videos of them they obviously do much much better and look like they would be a lot of fun. I used to do a lot of off road motorcycling and always loved doing so. I think I would really enjoy riding a Fat Trike off road. But alas, it is quite doubtful that it will ever happen.

One thing I learned in life is ya gotta work with what you have … at least unless and until something else comes along. I consider myself very blessed to have my Catrike Trail tadpole trike which I am content to ride on pavement with … especially at my advancing age and physical limitations. Off road riding at this point in my life would not be too practical. Oh to be young again. Well, my intention and desire is to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

P.S. –  I don’t normally do this, but I thought I would throw in this … Utah Trikes also make the FAT CAT QUAD. FAT CAT is derived from the fact that they start out with a Catrike and modify it. Check it out …

http://www.utahtrikes.com/PROD-11619311.html

UT Fat Cat Quad

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on February 27, 2015, in tadpole trikes, videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on FAT TAD – HOW QUAINT!.

Comments are closed.