PEDAL EXTENDERS MIGHT BE THE TICKET


Recently I went to a local bike shop and purchased some pedal extenders. They had 3 different lengths (20, 25 & 30 mm) and I didn’t know which one to get.

pedal extenders

I opted for the 25 mm. They told me I can bring them back to exchange for one of the others if I determined I need a different length. I got home and installed them. Wow, what a difference they made. My knee joints definitely feel better. However, I think I only need the shortest length ones so I will be taking them back to exchange them. Ironically when I went there the shortest length ones are what I had in mind to get as I thought the 20mm (just over 3/4 inch) was the only size available. Just to help those of us unfamiliar with the metric system the 25 mm is just under 1 inch and the 30 mm is just under 1 1/8 inches.

Anyway, I am looking forward to getting the shorter ones and riding with them.I am quite hopeful that they will be quite helpful in making a difference as I ride. Right now in the midst of another nasty winter my outdoor riding isn’t happening. Instead I have my trike indoors set up on a trainer. It is not the same as riding outdoors.

As I have aged and my knee joints have changed (bone on bone) my legs have become somewhat bow legged, especially my right one. Having my feet further apart on the pedals feels better on my knee joints. So, if your knee joints bother you as you pedal along you might benefit from using these pedal extenders. They might be just the ticket to help some of us to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

Post Script: I just took my 25 mm pedal extenders back to the LBS (local bike shop) to exchange them for the 20 mm size. While there I talked to the technician who told me that just adding a washer (or two or three) to a pedal makes a big difference … that our bodies are that sensitive. He said that sometimes only one side needs to be spaced out … and sometimes one side needs to be spaced out farther than the other side.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on February 28, 2015, in components, tadpole trikes, tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Peddle extenders sounds like a good idea. May try that. So far Bionx is the only thing that seemed to help these old knees.