ADAM’S MOTORIZED KMX TYPHOON TRIKE


KMX motorized with canopy cropped

Ten months of on and off work produced this nifty machine. I am so very impressed with the results. Obviously a lot of thought, planning and work went into it. You can even back up with this puppy by just pedaling backwards. Now that is neat!

Bike: KMX typhoon
Motor: Cromotor V2 with a temperature sensor from Methods
Controller: Lyen 10kW 24 FET modified by Zombiess.
Battery: 18s4p Lipo ( 75V, 32 Ah )
CA: Cycle analyst V3
Rear wheel: Mopped 16″ alu rim with a motocross studded tire laced by JRH.

KMX motorized with canopy raised up

As you can see he has a pretty aggressive tread on that rear tire. With all that power he no doubt needs it.

KMX motorized with canopy rear view

Even his safety flag pole is electrified …

KMX motorized with canopy left side view

You can read more about this trike and future plans HERE. It sure looks like he is enjoying the ride. And I truly hope all the rest of us do as well … even if our ride isn’t this elaborate.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on March 13, 2015, in construction/design, motorized trikes, tadpole trikes, videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Jerry Renaud, Sr

    It’s neat to see what some workshop warriors are doing as new tech comes on board. Stretching the boundaries…which begs the question..how far is too far. I think some trail regs do not allow motorized units which means these guys are left to deal with the hazards of coexisting with big ugly vehicles (many these days operated by drivers with cell phones in hand)…which brings me to the question of can there be too much prep on the side of safety gear ? (big, colorful flags, flashing lights, reflectors, etc). I’d appreciate it Steve I’d you revisited that latter issue on your blog for those of us who just entered the arena. I have most of the aforementioned gear on my trike…but then I deliberately do NOT run on roads with other vehicles and fortunately Iowa has lots of well-maintained hard surface trails to ride for more miles then my old legs would require. Others are not so lucky.
    Keep up the great reporting.

    • Well Jerry, I too mostly ride on trails, but I also ride on streets and roads. I have never had any problems being seen nor have I had any “close calls”. If fact, I would have to say that I encounter more problems on the trails than on streets and roads. On the trails I have to deal with people and dogs who aren’t doing that which the trail rules require of them.

      As to revisiting safety matters on this blog I have already written several articles and no doubt will again at some point in the future. I think it would be better if I gave a bit of instruction to readers in case they don’t know how to use the features available to locate postings about certain subjects. On the far right hand side you will see a column which has various things shown. The very first one is a “Search” box where you can type in what you are searching for on this blog and then use your keyboard’s ENTER key to submit the search. Much further down is a listing of CATEGORIES. Just scroll down until you see it. One of the categories listed is SAFETY. Click on it and all postings I have written on safety will be shown. Here is a link to the results of doing so:
      https://tadpolerider2.wordpress.com/category/safety/

      • Jerry Renaud, Sr

        Thanks Steve for the advice…and blog instructions. I asked my riding companion from earlier this week if he was interested in another ride over the coming weekend (weather outstanding now in Iowa) and he said he’d love to but he has continuing medical appointments dealing with an incident in which he was hit from behind by a motorist talking on a cell phone. His wife who was riding with him witnessed the event and was surprised he survived. Trike was trashed. I don’t think at 78 I’d fare as well…so “I’ll take the road less travelled and hope it makes all the difference” 😎