TIRE WIPERS … A GREAT IDEA


Every once in a while I come across something where I can’t help but say to myself “why didn’t I think of that?” Such is the case with this nifty little invention … tire wipers.

tires wipers

Using this little gadget helps clean off foreign matter which if left on the tire could work it’s way into the tire and cause a flat. I wonder how it would do with mud. I have more problem with mud than anything else. Anyway, at $18 they are affordable.

HERE is an article written about them and HERE is where to buy them.

tires wipers in package

The article says that they are installed at the exit (front edge) of your fenders. I would think they would be placed on the entry (rear edge) so that work to remove foreign matter as soon as possible. Also if they work for mud I would think they would be more effective wiping the tire of mud before it gets to the fenders. I could be wrong about this as far as which is more effective. Obviously on the front edge of the fender they would be facing the opposite direction from what they would face on the rear edge.

Looking at the picture I see the clear plastic tubing and notice that the steel is in two pieces with a gap in the middle of the plastic tubing. This obviously would allow the steel scraper to be able to move like it is hinged. I don’t know if this is needed but apparently the person making this has deemed it is. I would be curious as to how a solid piece of steel would work . I would think it would work fine with the possible exception of being a bit harder on the plastic fender where the unit mounts.

I may try making my own and making them a bit different to see if I can come up with something effective for removing the mud from the tires before it gets up into the fenders, brake levers, etc. Anyway, I wanted to share this product with you the reader in case you want to give these a try. They may help you to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on March 23, 2015, in accessories, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. garry503 Garry James

    Hi, Steve! Yes, I think that’s a good idea! And, yes, I agree they would be more effective relocated to the aft tread area as a wedge cleaner wiper. There could be the problem of the wiper wire being pushed up as “suck leg” by the rotation. I am sure a little engineering though could easily remedy that potential problem. Maybe, a simple crossbar with a roller to prevent the chocking effect. It would maintain the proper drag pressure. As I ponder this, I am thinking a blade, cupped to deflect the mud and debris away. Maybe, I’ll make two for my bike. And, when my trike arrives, I may have the “bugs” worked out. Thinking of Gilette Razors, the old single edge, verses the twin edge. One pulls out so the other cuts it. One wiper scrapes the debris, while the second pushes off! Thanks for the heads up.

    “IF IT’S FUN I’M INTERESTED! “

  2. Used these 30 years ago when riding DF bikes with sewup(tubular) tires. Those tires were so sensitive that even a high speed skid would remove enough tread to completely ruin the tire. But, I don’t see a real need on my trikes with Schwalbe Marathon Racers, unless planning to go off road. The fender attachment mode seems to be the only option. At least for the front wheels.