SHAFT DRIVEN … WHY NOT?


Shaft driven tadpole trikes? Yeah, why not? I would love to get rid of all that chain and sprockets. Shaft drive has been used on motorcycles for many years and some bicycles have had it. Yes, I know there is a loss of efficiency going from chain and sprockets to shaft drive. There are usually pros and cons to everything.

There is a recumbent bicycle which has shaft drive. I think it is in it’s “kickstarter” program at this time. The bike is called the Mirage Nomad. BROL has a good article on this bike.

shaft drive recumbent Mirage Nomad

Here is another recumbent bike with a shaft drive …

shaft drive on recumbent bicycle 4

shaft drive on recumbent bicycle compilation cropped

I want to be sure to give credit to the designers of this shaft drive recumbent bike so here is that information found on YouTube where these images came from: Meche Final Year Project, Team Laidback, School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Queen’s University of Belfast

I share this about the shaft drive recumbent bikes because if it can be done with a recumbent bike there is no reason why it couldn’t be done with a tadpole trike. I would assume it is only a matter of time before someone comes up with a shaft drive setup for a tadpole trike. I will be interested in seeing it.

Meanwhile I guess most of us will just have to contend with all that chain. Hey, maybe if we could ever get rid of it we could figure out something else to do with it …

chain dog

Do you suppose?

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on March 25, 2015, in components, construction/design, tadpole trikes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve been thinking of a shaft drive half tilting delta. Seems it could eliminate most of the drive train/chain management difficulties.