TICK TICK TICK


Tick tick tick … or was it click click click? Hey, I don’t remember. All I know is that near the end of my ride today I started hearing a noise coming from my right front wheel and it seemed to be emitted from my disc brake rotor. I looked it over but didn’t see anything obvious. Upon arriving back home I tore into it. I learned something today which was a costly lesson. I would have and should have spotted the problem much sooner and not only saved myself a lot of work but considerable expense. I say considerable expense because now I need to replace the entire brake caliper assembly. I tore it apart and then discovered that it would not go back together. By the time I did get it back together it was damaged. Now I have no adjustment on the inside brake pad.

Avid BB7 brake pads and spring clip

The noise I was hearing was something making physical contact with the holes in the disc brake rotor as it rotated. Looking back on this that should have been quite sufficient for me to have looked for what would make that noise and the most suspect thing would be the brake pad area. Instead of using my head and taking a close look I just simply observed the condition of the brake pads and laid everything aside looking further elsewhere. DUH! If I would have only taken a close look at the spring clip I would have found the problem. I didn’t see it until I was putting everything back together … the very last thing was the brake pads with this spring clip. As embarrassing as this is to share I am doing so to help others. If you hear such a noise coming from your disc brake rotor as your wheel revolves check out the spring clip in the brake pads. It would have been a simple quick inexpensive repair if I had only done so.

Avid BB7 brake pads with spring clip installed

Yep, that small metal clip somehow got damaged. The one side partially broke off and the rest of it bent back and was what was making contact with the holes in the brake rotor. Tick Tick Tick … all the way home. My brake assembly had been perfectly good. Now I will have to shell out $57 for a new one. I can ride it as is and even have a functioning brake, but it is not right and that bothers me. Besides I have a slight drag on that wheel as the other brake pad has to be adjusted in further to compensate for the side that no longer adjusts.

I have never had this spring clip break or get damaged before so I paid no attention to it. I assumed it was fine. Big mistake. Don’t you make it. Learn from my big goof. We all want to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on July 29, 2015, in maintenance/repair, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on TICK TICK TICK.

Comments are closed.