WEIGHTY MATTERS


weighty matters

Occasionally I have reason to remove my panniers and trunk bag from the back of my trike. It is only for a short temporary time. And when they are removed I usually lift the trike up and am always amazed at how much lighter it is. It seems like it is an altogether different trike. And I have to admit that it would be nice to ride it with all that extra weight missing. I think my extra stuff I haul around weighs in at about 30 pounds. And that is only what is inside the bags. It is not counting all the other stuff I have added to the trike. My 34 pound trike probably ends up around 70 pounds or more. That is more than double it’s original weight. Oh yes, the Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires are heavier than the Marathon Racers that came on it so that is even more weight. Then there is my fat carcass I am hauling around. Now we are talking about some serious weight. I mean it is a wonder it even moves.

panniers & trunk bag

Pedaling uphill is when it is all really noticeable. Of course, going downhill I readily out accelerate most others. That is the only time that extra weight pays off. Yes, it would be nice if most all of this weight didn’t exist, but with the exception of my  excess body weight the rest of it I would not want to ride without. I don’t care to be unprepared and end up broke down and stranded.

It is all a weighty matter and some argue that weight matters. Some go to extremes to lighten their trike as much as possible. Some of the things they do to achieve this frighten me. I am talking about things like taking half of the spokes out of the wheels, drilling holes in the frame and other parts of the trike, replacing steel bolts with plastic ones even in critical locations which could be disastrous if they broke, etc.

I guess it all comes down to “different strokes for different folks”. I know this … I don’t want to be riding near the person who is dangerously going about reducing the weight of their trike. If they are willing to risk their own life and limb that is one thing, but they could just as easily effect others’ well being. This is all a weighty matter and when it comes to our safety this small amount of weight saved doesn’t matter at all in my book.

But it sure is nice when I pick up the back of my trike when those bags are removed. With or without this weight I speak of, the plan and goal is to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on July 31, 2015, in misc., riding, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Electrify Steve, makes riding a lot more satisfying.

  2. Derek Simmons

    Another interesting post Steve. I found the value of packing on the extra weight when I broke down far from the madding crowd had the right stuff to effect a Trailside repair. As to my own personal avoirdupois I found it easier to drop 40 pounds following EAT BACON DONT JOG than to remove my panniers and their contents. And as you say–keep on trikin’