SPEED VS. DISTANCE VS. TIME


Some riders are all about speed and riding lot of miles. Others could care less about one or the other or both. I have noticed that the older I get the less I care about the speed or distance I ride. For me I am more concerned about how long I am out riding than I am about how fast I am riding or how far I ride.Knowing I am out riding pretty steadily for 4 +/- hours is more important to me. I know I got X number of minutes of exercise that day. A few years ago I rode more miles in a day than I usually do now. I didn’t necessarily ride faster but I think I usually rode longer. Obviously riding faster over the same time frame will result in more distance. I see some bicyclists flying by me and get the same mileage in I get but in a fraction of the time. They quit upon riding a certain distance  I am still out there riding long after they are done. They might be getting healthier exercise, but I really don’t care. I am just out to enjoy riding. For me to try to ride faster or further than I do would turn it into something I would not enjoy nearly as much as I do now.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on August 5, 2015, in riding, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m with you Steve! I used to ride my DFs for speed but now just enjoy riding my trikes for the pleasure of experiencing nature and staying healthy. I have about 100 miles of paved trails all within about 2-20 miles of my house. Triker heaven!!!

  2. Right on Steve. I think if you did a survey of the members of our retiree group…you’d get agreement. We usually ride 15-20 miles on one of our many beautiful central Iowa trails and stop and smell the roses along the way. Last ride we were “buzzed” by a crop dusting plane working a nearby soybean field…the Red Baron lives 🙂