SOMETIMES A GUY JUST HAS TO HAVE FUN


Most of us are familiar with riding the rails … rail trail, that is … abandoned railroad tracks which have been converted over into trails. Well, the writing is on the wall and it was just a matter of time before someone was foolish enough to attempt riding the wall. I have never made up a bucket list, but occasionally I get some wild idea I want to try. I mean in the past …

I have ridden on the moon

Steve on moon with lunar rover tire tracks

I made an exhilarating jump

trike-jumping-2 reduced

I once rode along a narrow ledge of a mountain where one slip would mean certain death, but unfortunately I haven’t been able to find the photo to prove it.

I rode thru a huge pileup of leaves on the trail

riding thru deep pile of leaves

I have been chased by a bear

motivation for pedaling 2

On one occasion I let the cat out of the bag

cat 559 out of the bag

cat's out of the bag

I created the first headless tadpole trike rider (better hope you don’t see him out there)

unnerving

I provided proof setting peoples’ minds at ease that this bicyclist was okay after his little mishap

down under 2

I put a drag chute on a tadpole trike to help slow it down

drag chute on trike

I made a way to get up to those high bottom brackets on some trikes

high bb

But I needed to accomplish more and got to thinking about what else I could do. Then it hit me like a ton of bricks … I will ‘ride the wall’. So I dood it! Here is proof.

riding the wall reduced

Riding on the Great Wall of China

me riding on Via Dolorosa

Riding on the Via Dolorosa in Jerusalem.

snow thrower Steve's Catrike

blowing snow

V-plow on my Catrike

plowin’ snow

I assume most of you know that I am just kidding around with all of these and am simply having fun with some photo editing. I will no doubt never get to do any of these things and some of them I would not attempt as I would like to think that my parents didn’t raise a fool.

All that being said, there are some who have ridden a bicycle on the Great Wall of China. Here is proof …

Of course, as you can see there is a lot of hill climbing involved as well as steps to contend with. And some of it doesn’t look like it would accommodate a tadpole trike. Then there is the matter of timing and the particular location as it looks like it could get mighty crowded out there.

great wall a bit crowded

I would call this a “ribbon of humanity” … as far as the eye can see.

I rather doubt if a tadpole trike has ever been ridden on this infamous wall. I rather doubt if one ever will be ridden there, but hey, I suppose anything is possible. I have already got as close to it as I ever will. At least I have proof that I have … “been there, done that”. šŸ™‚

Lastly, but most significant of all my rides was when I rode along the very same route Jesus Christ walked carrying the cruel wooden cross He later died on to purchase the salvation for you and I by shedding His innocent blood that we might be forgiven if we only repent and turn to Him seeking His forgiveness and then live our lives in obedience to Him putting Him first in all things at all times.

 

Regardless where we find ourselves hopefully we can all …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on August 10, 2015, in misc., riding, tadpole trikes, videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on SOMETIMES A GUY JUST HAS TO HAVE FUN.

Comments are closed.