HOW DO YOU BALANCE THAT THING? … and OTHER DUMB QUESTIONS


How do you balance that thing? … Just one of the dumb questions I have been asked. And some comments are as dumb. One such comment I have heard a couple of times is … “That thing sure looks uncomfortable.” And then they ask me about it. I usually ask them if they have a recliner chair or have ever sat in one. If they say yes I then ask them if it is/was comfortable to which they reply “Of course”. Then I tell them that sitting on the trike is much like sitting in a recliner chair. They don’t know what to think or say then. One person went on to say … “Well, it just doesn’t look comfortable to me. I think I would prefer a regular bike.”

Then there are those who come up with statements like … “I will give you $125 for it.” I tell them … “That wouldn’t even buy the fenders on it.” Most people have no concept of how much money is involved in a tadpole trike.

“That doesn’t look safe! I would be afraid to ride something like that.” I occasionally hear that. What can I say? In my opinion having ridden diamond frame bicycles for nearly 60 years before switching over to recumbents I think it is far safer than being on 2 wheels. Of course, anything we operate is only as safe as the way in which we operate it. But inherently a tadpole trike is far safer than a bike. And most tadpole trike riders would readily tell you that they get far more respect (from drivers of cars and trucks) on their trike than they ever did on a bike.

Another common question is … “Is that hard to ride? It looks like it would be.” My answer is … “No, why do you think that?” Then I go on to explain that it could not be any simpler. There is no balancing involved like there is on a bike so that in itself makes it easy. It is quite comfortable, easy to pedal, has excellent brakes, handles like a sports car and is a blast to ride.

Another often asked question is … “How do you steer it?” Again, my comeback is usually … “The same as you do any bike … you use the handlebars”  … while I am demonstrating it for them.

I try not to get smart with them although I have to admit it is challenging not to at times. Remembering that as a tadpole trike rider I am an ambassador. I want to promote tadpole trikes and help others take notice of all they have to offer. I would like very much to see many more of them … just so it doesn’t get too crowded out there. 🙂

Yes, as the numbers grow we can all …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on September 11, 2015, in misc., rider comfort, riding, safety, tadpole trikes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have had similar discussions with people on the local greenways.
    Some of the people have seen a ‘tadpole’ but I ride a ‘delta’ trike.
    This seems to confuse them even more. I just tell them to try it!
    It’s the only way to fly!