LEAF REMOVAL MADE EASY


It is that time of year when leaves are falling and covering over the trails. A friend of mine swept and raked leaves off of the trail last year. It is a lot of work and quite tiring. He accomplished about a mile of trail per day walking along doing it the “conventional way”. This year he got innovative. When I first saw what he came up with I didn’t think it would work very well (and he had his doubts as well), but upon trying it out we were both quite surprised at how well it works. Keep in mind that the leaves continue to fall down so it makes no sense to try to get the trail cleaned off perfectly as an hour later it is a mess again. Anyway, without further ado here is what he came up with.

leaf removal 6

He simply pulls it behind his tadpole trike and with it can get more work done in one day than he could accomplish walking in an entire week. Like many projects if he were to make it again he would make some changes. Never the less, what he has now does a pretty decent job. My thinking on the design is that the side piece should be angled out instead of at a 90 degree angle. Also I think there should be a side piece on the other side which can be easily and quickly removed and switched like I show in this drawing I made.

leaf removal rig drawing

leaf removal 1

leaf removal 3

He had swept the trail the day before so there are not a whole lot of leaves on it as he was sweeping it this day I took these pictures.

leaf removal 2

leaf removal 4

leaf removal 8

When the leaves accumulate ahead of his rig he has to stop and pick up the rig and set it over to the side. Then he takes a leaf rake he has along with him and rakes the accumulated leaves over off to the side of the trail.

I know I certainly appreciate his efforts as it makes it a whole lot safer to ride on the trail when you can see it. It is very rare for the city government to clean off the trails … at least this particular one which happens to be our favorite to ride. So it is good that there are those of us who volunteer to help maintain it. Occasionally a trail user will even say “thanks” for our efforts … something which is always appreciated. Having nice clean trails to ride on helps to be able to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

P.S. –  I made my own leaf removal rig today, but it will be awhile before I can try it out as it is raining today and the leaves will have to dry out before they can be swept off of the asphalt pavement of the trails. Anyway, I made mine different. I have no idea if it will work. I will just have to wait and see. I made it like a snow plow … angled … hoping it will force the leaves over to the side of the trail and I can just keep going without having to stop frequently like my friend does with his rig. Here is a drawing I made of what I came up with.

my leaf removal rig

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on October 28, 2015, in misc., safety, tadpole trikes, trails, videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. He shall be the busy man for the next couple months… As I will be the busy rider…!