UPHILL BOTH WAYS & SIMILAR IRREGULARITIES


uphill both ways

A few years ago I went with three cycling friends to a “rails to trails” trail we had never been to. It ran north and south. We started about in the middle and headed north first. As we were riding along we all noticed and talked about the fact that we seemed to be riding uphill pretty much constantly since we started. We went on to talk about how it would be a relief and delight when we got to the north end and turned around heading back south … as it would be downhill all that distance. We were in for a surprise and to this day can’t explain it. Upon turning around and heading south it seemed like we had the same uphill ride.

Another thing that I have experienced several times is a headwind to ride into regardless of which direction I am riding … including turning around and heading back in the opposite direction. I know the wind can change direction, but as far as I know it didn’t. I have no explanation for it.

Oh well, at least it didn’t happen when I was a kid walking to school and I never had to walk in the snow barefoot. So has anyone else experienced such strange happenings? Now is your chance to come out with it … or are you concerned that someone might think you are a bit shy of a full load?

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on November 6, 2015, in misc., riding, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey Steve, it’s called level.

    • No, I don’t think so. We all ride lots of miles and had not encountered anything like it before or since. And the ride to the south end of the trail past our starting point wasn’t like this. It was far more “normal”.