WHAT WIND?


wind generation

It has been windy in much of the United States recently. With the wind and the wind chill factor not many cyclists (or others) have been seen venturing out. I went out this morning and rode on a local trail. I saw one other cyclist the whole time I was out. It has to be a very strong wind to bother me and keep me from riding. I suppose if I were riding a bicycle or even a tadpole trike with the seat angle much more upright than my Catrike Trail is I would notice the wind a lot more and it would be a problem for me. However, I am thankful for my “recumbent” (laid back, reclined) riding position as the wind just is not an issue for me. I jokingly say “what wind?” when someone I am riding with objects to (or complains about) it. Although I am saying it just to tease them and give them a hard time I can honestly say that I am serious at the same time.

what makes wind

Yep, ‘what wind’ is my come back and I am so glad I can say it. It has to be either rather cold so that the wind has a noticeable wind chill factor or it has to be blowing hard enough to get my attention … say about 30 mph or higher.

what makes the wind blow

Sometimes I think it would be neat to take advantage of the wind by using a sail on a trike. There are people who do it. There are a couple of manufacturers offering sails on trikes although it is more common to see them on a delta trike than on a tadpole trike.

trikes with sails

kite pulling trike

There are even para-sails used as well as kites.

parasail chute on trike

There is only one problem I foresee in this … one would have to admit that there is a wind. 🙂 That would take a lot of fun away for me. Besides that, I would probably lose control in a heartbeat and crash and burn. I spent 8 years in the U.S. Navy, but that didn’t make me a sailor as far as knowing anything about sailing a sail boat.

Sorry, but this just doesn’t look like it would be much fun to me. It looks like it would be very tiring … quite literally exhausting on the arms and upper body dealing with pulling on the rig almost constantly. And getting tipped over while travelling along at a pretty good clip sure isn’t appealing. I think I would rather just pedal along. Of course, I don’t think I would have any desire to ride in such a desolate miserable looking area as that anyway. (Different strokes for different folks.) For those who have an interest in this 3100 mile (5000 km) kite-powered trike journey thru Russia, Mongolia and China you can visit the website HERE, the blog HERE, his Facebook page HERE and check out more of his videos HERE.

One thing about it … like so many other things … it happens and there ain’t nothin’ we can do about it. I am talking about wind … sometimes with a capital W. Or as a friend is fond of saying … “you’ll have that!”. We just have to deal with it and for me I am glad I can quite often say … “what wind?” … all the while being glad I am not out there dealing with it on an upwrong bike as then I couldn’t say that. Yes, I remember it … part of the agony and discomfort of riding a conventional bicycle. I love my recumbent trike! And with or without the wind I hope to and plan on …

KEEPING ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on November 16, 2015, in riding, special trikes, tadpole trikes, videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow those are some really cool ideas that you had posted, I like the idea of using wind as propulsion for a trike, as with the sails, It, is a great idea..! I even think, I could amplify the propulsion, by switching to lug rig, making it easier as well to control, although I haven’t figured out how the tacking can be more simplified yet, but I’m sure with some research, I could find through other wind trikers posts, as to some kind of alternate idea for tacking…! As for the weather Steve, living down here in Florida, we find those same winds a blessing,… When I had my boat, a 48 ft. sloop, called Blue Chip which was built in the late 1970’s, and was modified by it’s previous owner for yacht racing off the shores of the Bahamas.. The wind carried me and Blue Chip to my dreams of new destinations, and adventures… Well anyway Steve I loved those days when we get a good breeze, and you would love to see the para sailers, hanging on to parachutes, while trying to control their boards with their body weight, and fancy footwork. Your hinder is our blessing, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.. But I am sorry to hear how it had interrupted your day riding…! Well better days will come to you, and the shoe will be on the other foot, with us worrying about those same winds, starting up a hurricane, and making our days hell, and wondering if our homes will stand up to another blow, but still I wouldn’t want it any other way…
    So in closing Steve, I thank you for still another great website posting…!
    Armadillozack