TRAVELIN’ ALONG SIDE BY SIDE


don’t know anything about how much money people might have or whether or not they are singing, but I know it is possible to travel along side by side on a tadpole trike. I have shown pictures of such trikes in the past on this blog. Recently I saw another such trike on Facebook which prompted me to write this article now. These trikes are a bit unusual as the tandem trikes are more commonly the same as tandem bikes … with one rider sitting behind the other.

I was going to post a picture of the side by side tandem here, but when I went back to Facebook looking for it it seems to have disappeared. I don’t know what is going on. Anyway, they really do exist although they are all custom built. No company known for making tadpole trikes yet offers them as far as I know. The closest thing to it is Utah Trikes. Here is one they made. It is a quadricycle however.

side by side tandem tadpole trike 2

One thing for sure … you want to make sure that whoever you are riding with is someone you really  get along good with and you better hope they bathed recently. 🙂 

side by side tandem tadpole trike 1

Another homemade side by side tandem tadpole trike …

side by side tandem tadpole trike 4

Here is one under construction found on Atomic Zombie …

AZ side by side tandem tadpole trike 1

Obviously it would be easy to make these into a quad instead of a trike … and this too has been done.

4 seat side by side quad

And here is one with 6 seats …

6 seat side by side quad

Who knows what we will see next? One thing about it … although these might seem intriguing they would be very limited in practicality as they are too wide for riding many places, particularly on bike trails. The turning radius would probably also be a determining factor as to where they could be ridden. But hey, even if you don’t have a barrel of money you can travel along singing a song side by side. Sorry I couldn’t show you the picture of the tadpole trike I spoke of. It must have been deleted as I looked long and hard for it to no avail.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on December 21, 2015, in construction/design, homemade tadpole trikes, special trikes, tandem trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Would not a side by side seating tadpole trike be a bit unstable when turning to the side opposite a single rider? He or she with their weight would be sitting above or almost above a line drawn in-between the ground contact points of the front wheel on their side and the back wheel, a condition that I think would lead to spilling to the side where a single rider would be sitting. In such a design, to avoid the tendency for spilling, you would always need the second person to be riding with you. A tandem “in-line” seating “twike” would be O.K. with a single occupant.

    • It might tend to tip over easier to the side the rider is on. However, the wheel base is quite a bit wider so that would add considerable stability over a narrower width trike.

  2. The red Utah trikes one caught my eye, but on closer inspection I’m pretty sure it’s actually a narrow back end quad.