TO LISTEN OR NOT TO LISTEN (THAT IS THE QUESTION)


riding with headphones

There are many people who listen to various “piped” audible sounds as they ride their trikes. Some listen to music while others listen to talk radio. And I imagine that others listen to other stuff. Some listen thru headphones. Some use earbuds. Some have speakers mounted near their heads. Some folks have the volume turned up quite high while others keep it down pretty low. Using speakers presents a problem in that it effects others. There is nothing more annoying to have to deal with than some butthole with their car sound system turned up so loud that it drowns out my own audio system in my car (even with my windows rolled up).

earbuds

I personally have occasionally taken along an mp3 player with earbuds. I have also had a sort of boom box with external speakers. For me I have found I don’t really care much to have anything playing as I ride as I find it distracting and dangerous. And, of course, there are factors such as where we are riding and what all is going on around us that come into play. If we are pretty much by ourselves in an area where not much of anything is going on then obviously that is a lot safer environment than we would find ourselves in if we were riding in a busy congested area with others around us. Since there is currently no law against it we are on our own as to whether or not we engage in this. I won’t do it period during a time when it is not safe to do so.

I have two friends that I ride with who listen to talk radio as they ride. Much of the time they can’t hear me if I say something to them. I can’t help but wonder how it effects their ability to hear other sounds out there … sounds they need to hear to be safe as they ride.

paramedics treating downed cyclist

I won’t go on about this subject, but I do think we need to consider such things. If we just “have to” listen to such as we ride we should at least keep the volume level down so we can hear other sounds. Perhaps only using one ear for listening to such piped audible sounds would be prudent. It is my opinion, but I equate this with texting and driving … foolish, irresponsible and dangerous. We need to be safe out there and do our part to keep others safe as well.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on December 25, 2015, in riding, safety and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I sometimes like to just listen to nature but if I do listen to anything it is almost always a spoken podcast because it does not block the surrounding sounds very much. I also just listen with one earbud as a precaution.