TIRE PRESSURE-DOES IT MATTER?


For as long as I can remember I have heard and read that the higher the air pressure in a bike tire the better it will roll … meaning faster because of less rolling resistance.  Along with this it was believed that narrower tires do better than wider tires when it comes to the speed they are capable of. Well, now it has been proven that this is false. Yep, now they are saying that we can run wider tires and at lower pressures without encountering a reduction in the speed we can obtain as well as the effort needed to propel ourselves along at those speeds. HERE is an article about this subject written by Jan Heine on his blog.

Personally I have a difficult time accepting this. My own experience is that the same tire at a lower pressure rolls less easily than it does at a higher pressure. I can detect a lot of difference between the pressure as it takes more effort to pedal and I can’t go as fast when the pressure gets down too low. And I am talking about staying within the minimum and maximum pressure rating. It really is difficult to argue against scientific studies, but I am not buying into this just now.

So what about you? What do you think? Your feedback is most welcome. Leave a comment.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on January 20, 2016, in news and interviews, riding, tadpole trikes, tips, tires and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have come from the same school as you regarding tire pressure and width. This (new) school of thought that flies in the face of that has been hard for me to get my head around but I have been trying lower pressure in my Durano’s and it seems to actually work and makes for a nicer ride. The next thing I want to try are some wider tires like Kojak’s.

  2. Steve on this one again, I’m going to have to agree with you, as I to believe that more pressure makes the tire inflate to a rounder, and larger size but at the same time, when filling the tire with more air you are decreasing the amount of tire that is introduced to the ground, or comes in contact with the ground, and hence the less roll resistance when moving the bike, trike, or whatever is attached to the tires…! I am not familiar with Mr. Jan Heineh, nor have I read his article, as I don’t have enough hours in a day to hear everyone’s hypothesis on how to reinvent the wheel..! Nor do I care to, although you would think I would want to hear how to make my ride roll faster, and, or easier… But the truth is that man has tried to reinvent the wheel as long as it has been in discoverance, and yet there has still been no change, I do however agree with some things to be said about less air in a tire, when it applies to a horsepower engine driven machine in which man has chosen to call a car…! LoL..! And how when reducing the amount of air to the tires, that the car receives better control, and higher traction, which translates to a faster car…! But that has to do with the automotive industry, and race car enthusiasts, as they look how to transmit more power through a complicated bunch of machinery which is attached before the wheels, and tires axle, and is transmitted down a long list of go betweens till finally it reaches its tires, at which point you would want to have as much tire be exposed to the road to have better traction, and hence deliver all the car’s engine’s power to its wheels… But when it is you who are the power, and not a motor, or engine, ( and yes there is a difference between a motor, and an engine ), then you want the least amount of resistance..! No one wants to work harder, they just want to go when it is concerning a bike, trike, or quad, and if they can go faster all the better…! So yes more air in the tires when applying your power to the list of mechanicals, before transmitting this, your power to your wheels, and the least amount of resistance in it’s path, of its transmission of power is the greater for that engine that you are replacing, because you are a mechanical mess of another sort, in which gets tired easily, and have weaknesses that do not exist in a motor, or engine of a mechanical nature… Hence you move at a slower pace when there is more tire touching the ground creating a longer, or larger path of resistance ….! So getting back to the beginning of this post, Yes I do agree with you Steve…! And I do not know how Mr. Jan Heine can say what it is, you are saying, he is saying… Because everyone knows the least amount of distance creates the least amount of resistance when it comes to Bike Trike, or Quad wheels touches the ground…
    Armadillozack