EVOVELO


Evovelo 4 cropped

Yet another solar-electric velocar is trying to make its appearance on the market. This one is called Evovelo. It is a Spanish born piece of machinery. At first glance I would have to say it wouldn’t win any beauty contest, but I think the designer has more in mind function than beauty. And besides, I think the looks of it do kind of grow on you after awhile. It incorporates a regenerative braking feature that can help recharge the battery while on the move. According to Evovelo, there is “No need to charge the battery with moderate use” (10-25 km per day)(6-15 miles per day), thanks to the solar panels and regenerative braking feature. Cost is expected to be about $4900 (4500 Euros). To my way of thinking that is a pretty decent price, especially when you stop to think that there are trike manufacturers charging that much for just a basic human powered machine.

Evovelo 2

Evovelo 3

Evovelo 1

If you are like me you may not understand a word that is said in this next video, but you can enjoy the images.

HERE is an article about it. And HERE is another article.

The empty weight is reported to be 187 pounds and the vehicle measurements are 55″ x 79″ x 51″ which is 4 foot 7 inches wide, 6 foot 7 inches long and 4 foot 3 inches high. Headlights have both low and high beam and if I understand correctly they also have a flashing mode available. It comes with turn signals and brake lights. A horn is provided. Either drum or disc brakes are available on all 3 wheels. The doors and trunk lock. It sounds like this vehicle has been pretty well thought out and might indeed be very practical for those looking for inexpensive transportation close to home while protected from the elements.

The wheels are supplied directly with power from an electric motor. As to the motor there are a number of options, ranging from 250W to 1500W, determined by the existing laws governing what is allowed where the buyer will use the vehicle. I read something about a 6/7-speed transmission, but I don’t know anything more about that. Battery charging comes from either the 100W solar panels on the roof or by an onboard charging port. If desired the battery can also be removed for charging.

Evovelo 5

Here is what the company’s website says about their vehicle:

A fully enclosed structure , like a conventional car, which provides greater security to their occupants and allows use in any season, regardless of weather conditions.
It can carry two people sitting in parallel (social), a variable amount of load and / or 1 or 2 chairs for children .
It has a low , almost zero environmental impact because of their efficiency and the use of sustainable materials in their manufacture.
Their cost of acquisition and maintenance are also greatly reduced .
Its technical features allow both cost savings as taxes or insurance and no special permission is required to drive.
Its small size (2m long / 1.4m width / height 1.3m) and low weight (~ 85 kg) facilitates parking and gives great maneuverability.
Autonomy in electric mode: ~ 50 kms.
Removable battery : in case of need can be charged simply by plugging the battery from the vehicle or removing it for charging at home, in the office, in the garage, etc.
No need to recharge the battery in moderate use.
Allows exercise for use thanks to pedal assistance favoring our health .

Evovelo 6

As you can see in this picture above the rear tire is considerably wider than the front tires which should be very practical and helpful when dealing with snow, etc. They advertise anti-puncture wheels. I assume they mean tires as I don’t know why anyone would be concerned about the wheels getting punctured.

I can’t help but wonder about the future of such vehicles. They seem quite practical to me. I am not “into” the “green thing”, but I have nothing against practicality. Who knows, maybe someday soon we will see lots of vehicles like this running around. I would much rather see them than SUVs getting 14 mpg with many of their drivers with their ‘get out of my way’ attitudes.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on February 10, 2016, in motorized trikes, tadpole trikes, trike reviews, velomobiles, videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think it’s cool..! But I think everything is cool that is eco friendly…! But I wouldn’t mind having one for when it rains, and I can’t go to the store for whatever, I mean like everything is cool so long as you don’t get soaking wet from the rain right…?
    Well nice article Steve once again thank you for bring the newest of techknowledgey …!