DAN MCGUIRE, AN INCREDIBLE JOURNEY & A TRUE INSPIRATION


Note: I want to state upfront that when I started writing this article I was under the impression that this tadpole trike journey was still ongoing. It was not until after I completed writing the article that I discovered that the ride was completed in August 2014. I have made some changes in what I wrote in an attempt to try to reflect this, but I can’t assure you the reader that everything will be clear and accurate. I am still a bit confused myself. Never the less, I think you will find it an interesting story.

Dan McGuire 2

Dan says  ‘cycling is therapeutic and gives him purpose’.

Dan McGuire is a determined tadpole rider who indeed is an inspiration as well as a challenge to the rest of us. I think he is approximately 83 now. Dan is stricken with Parkinson’s Disease as well as arthritis, scoliosis and something weird with his eye according to his daughter.  She writes “Canada is his playground” and it sure looks like he is making his way around its vastness. He started this current journey in 2013. He was diagnosed with Parkinson’t in 2007. Dan has been a longtime cyclist with several accomplishments in the past. This was approximately a 10,000 km (6214 mile) trike ride he set out on at approximately 80 years old and he did it alone although others have accompanied him on parts of his journey.

map of Dan's journey

You can read his daughter’s article about him HERE.

Dan McGuire 7

And HERE is Dan’s Facebook page.

Dan McGuire

HERE is another article about this incredible tadpole pilot. And HERE is another article.

Dan McGuire 4

Note: Although his journey ended in 2014 the following webpage appears to be still up and functioning as far as I know … And HERE is a webpage where you can donate on behalf of Dan to help Parkinson Society British Columbia. Their statement is that they are “there for those in need. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is committed to offering support, sharing reliable information and raising funds for programs and research. We receive no government funding, so we rely on you. ” Dan has a personal goal set to raise $10,000 for this organization. On this webpage you can also leave a comment for Dan to encourage him and wish him well.

Dan McGuire 6

Upon further reading about Dan it appears that his journey across Canada was successfully completed in 2014. It just goes to show ya that you have to be careful what you read online. 🙂

 Dan McGuire finishes journey

Dan, I don’t know if you will ever see this and read it, but I just want to say thanks for your commitment and effort in raising awareness and demonstrating that life isn’t over just because one becomes affected by Parkinson’s Disease. Your journey was (and is)  indeed incredible and my hat is off to you. I don’t know your current status as to whether or not you are still cycling, but I sure hope you are and will be able to continue to do so for some time yet. You are an encouragement and inspiration to the rest of us to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on March 21, 2016, in Disabled, news and interviews, tadpole riders, tandem trikes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I applaud this man for his epic journey, and it says to me I need to work harder on the ASP ( armadillo sleep pod ) this week and be ready to go by the end of the month for my small but epic journey for the Armadillo man’s 300 mi. trip to Key West, FL….! But I have to say I am younger, and disabled, and better looking…! But all jokes aside, is it not great to see men or women of his age to make such journeys, the exhilaration this man must feel when completing a leg of his journey at his age must be so rewarding, Again I have to say my hat comes off for him, and am glad always to hear of such journeys and the sheer excitement it brings to others when shared through posts such as the Tadpole Rider…! Thank you as always Steve for bring us another great post…!
    Armadillo Zack