PERFORMER TRIKES


Performer trike models

Performer trikes have been around since 1999. Located in Taiwan they currently manufacture about 7 models according to their WEBSITE. Taiwan is known for bicycle manufacturing. Some of the well known trike manufacturers have their trike frames made in Taiwan. And HERE is a link to Performer’s Facebook page. The Performer website lists only one dealer here in the U.S.

_________________

Recumbent Bike Riders
1306 S. Atherton Street
State College, PA 16801 USA
Phone: 814-234-4636
Email: sales@rbr.info
Website: http://rbr.info/

__________________

There are a few other dealers in the U.S. however, they are not listed as dealers on Performer’s website because RBR is the sold U.S. distributor and any dealers in the U.S. get their trikes from RBR and not directly from Performer.

I am very confused by the websites I am looking at. The Performer website shows that the only trike they manufacture with a cro-moly frame is the JC70CM-FRP model, but they show other models as having cro-moly frames elsewhere on their website. Performer shows the following models as having an “alloy” frame: JC20AL-FRP, JC20AL-Mesh, JC70AL-FRP, JC70AL-Mesh, and the Trike-E. The word alloy doesn’t mean much to me. There are a whole lot of different alloys so just saying alloy is meaningless as far as I am concerned. It is only a notch above saying that the frames are made of metal. Cro-moly is an alloy. Even steel is an alloy. By definition an alloy is a metal made by combining two or more metallic elements, especially to give greater strength or resistance to corrosion. For example, brass is an alloy of copper and zinc; steel is an alloy of iron and carbon. To add to the mess Performer shows more models available than the dealer’s website shows. I have always found this sort of thing when dealing with Taiwanese/Chinese companies and their websites. Somebody needs to get their act together. The more I try looking at these two websites the more confused I get. Quite honestly I don’t know if what I am showing here is accurate or not. Like I said, I find it confusing and frustrating. Somebody needs to get all this straightened out. I am going to try to list the trikes according to what I think I understand from Performer’s website. It ain’t easy folks! 🙂 And I sincerely apologize for anything I don’t have shown correctly as I really want to be fair and accurate. If Performer reads this or the dealer reads it and has anything to say to help and advise I welcome their communication. I will do my best to edit and get things right. To be fair to the dealer they are dealing with this same confusion so it is difficult to get things shown accurately and correctly.

Note: Since posting this article I have heard from Performer Trikes. They said that they have removed the one dealer from their website and they will change to word “alloy” to help clarify just what the frame is made of.

Note: Some of their models have 4 different versions which consist of different components such as shifters, derailleurs, sprockets, mesh seat vs. hard seat, etc. Some are 27 speed and some are 30 speed. Naturally the higher grade of components involved the price increases. I am not going to try to list and show them all here as there are just too many.

Performer trike e

Performer trike e … $1395

alloy frame

________________________

Performer trike x
Performer trike x FRP LX 27 speed … starting at $1650 (available in 4 different versions)

7005 aluminum frame

rear suspension

currently on sale on Amazon $1349 plus $175 shipping

________________________

Performer trike jc-20
Performer trike JC20 … $1795 (available in 4 different versions)

7005 aluminum alloy frame

________________________

Performer trike jc-70
Performer trike JC70 (30 speed)  … $1750 (available in 4 different versions)

cro-moly frame

________________________

Performer Recumbent Trike JC70AL-FRP X.9 30 speed

Performer Recumbent Trike JC70AL-FRP X.9 30 speed … $1949 on Ebay

7005 aluminum frame

________________________

Performer Trike-X FRP LX 27S
Performer Recumbent Trike-JC70 AL FRP LX 27 speed … $1555 on Ebay (available in 4 different versions)

7005 aluminum alloy frame

________________________

Performer trike JC70CM-FRP

Performer Recumbent Trike Acera JC70CM-FRP … $1325 on Ebay

cro-moly frame

Performer provides a 5 year warranty on their trikes. Performer currently offers these colors:

all color options

Ebay currently sells 3 models of Performer trikes:

Performer trikes on Ebay

Be aware that you must look carefully at the postings on Ebay as there are some people selling used Performer trikes priced as much as or even more than new ones.

Buyers should be aware of some trade offs when considering buying trikes such as these. With so few dealers around and parts coming from Taiwan one might have some complications and delays in receiving repair/replacement parts. In keeping the cost down there are some things commonly found on most trikes may not be found on these. One thing in particular that comes to mind is the rear derailleur hanger which normally is a separate part made of aluminum and designed to bend to help save the rear derailleur from damage. Cheaper bicycle frames and these trike frames do not have these. Instead the rear derailleur just bolts onto the frame and should the derailleur get forced to one side the frame gets bent instead of a replaceable part. The frame can even get broken off should this happen. And it is not uncommon for rear derailleurs to receive such forces. I have had it happen several times. All in all Performer makes a pretty decent trike for the money although the lower end ones have lesser quality components.

I have found some other online sources to purchase Performer trikes:

SuperScooterStore.com

Alibaba.com

ThreeWheelBicycles.com

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on March 23, 2016, in buying a trike, tadpole trikes, trike brands, trike reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. PERFORMER TRIKE X COMMENTS FOR THE TADPOLE RIDER WEBSITE

    Thanks for another great article, Steve. I’d like to add some personal observations about the Performer Trike I currently own.

    I purchased my Performer Trike X on Amazon, with RBR listed as the seller. It is a 27 speed machine, with rear suspension, a FRP seat, Shimano gears, and Tektro Novela disc brakes.
    As far as I am aware, Amazon shows three Performer Trikes listed as sold via RBR, in various combinations of equipment, including the option of either a FRP or a mesh seat. The machines are delivered via DHL directly from the manufacturer in Taiwan.

    I had absolutely no issues with regard to delivery (the trike came within a month of ordering, and definitely faster than promised), or with the packaging on this item. The trike was well packed with just one slight paint chip to be found on the frame.

    The trike is delivered 50% assembled, leaving the user to complete the job. The instruction manual supplied with the trike is awful, and I would advise those who lack the relevant knowledge either to enlist the help of a more bike-savvy friend, or to watch the many helpful You Tube videos out there so as to make sure everything is set up as it should be.

    I made heavy use of RBR during the construction phase, and Rob Gentry of that company was of the utmost help to me. We conducted our conversations via E-Mail. He would ask me to send him photographs of the trike, so as to assess the issue I was having, and his advice was always comprehensive, and just what I needed to help me to put things right. I never had to wait long for a reply from him. I just can’t fault RBR, especially Rob.

    I’ve been riding my trike for just over a year now, and I am very pleased with it. Yes, in due course I might well upgrade the brakes from the Tektro Novela discs fitted as standard (either to Avid BB5 or BB7 discs), and I will probably fit a Terracycle idler when the time comes to replace that particular component, but for now, all is well.

    I don’t have any major moans or gripes about this trike. It’s great value for money, imho, and the issues I do have are minor, and definitely not deal breakers. For example, the headrest isn’t the best and I’ve yet to find a way to adjust it to my liking (even with drilling new mounting
    holes); also: the Ventisit seat cushioning isn’t the most comfortable, and the velcro fitting system doesn’t really work that well (although, to be fair, after a few weeks of riding I found I’d forgotten about the seat cushion, as I was having so much fun riding the trike so nothing else
    really mattered).

    There are ways out there to upgrade the seat cushion (assuming you choose the FRP seat as I did, rather than the mesh seat option) – for example you can add additional padding by cutting a yoga mat to fit (there are You Tube videos and blog posts about this), or you can purchase the padded seat cushion from ICE Trikes via a local dealer (and it looks like it
    would fit perfectly with little or no work to be done to make that happen – I met a guy who rode an ICE Trike, and he let me try the seat cushion from his machine, and it didn’t seem to be a bad fit at all). RBR recommended a supplier of custom seats (located in Holland, I think), and,
    whilst their products looked to be very good, the price was quite high, and the shipping costs made the total cost too much for me to consider.

    Other minor issues would be with the front fenders, which are definitely cheap and nasty, and not really up to the job (it takes a bit of work to render them clatter-free). One of the cast metal fender mountings snapped when I was out on a ride, and the whole fender fell off. Rob Gentry came to my aid and supplied a pair of new fender mountings for no charge – how
    great is that?

    The bike carrier is also a bit on the weedy side, and whatever I did to make it fit correctly it has always ended up looking lopsided. Once again though, it’s perfectly fine if you’re just carrying light stuff, so I don’t have a problem with it.

    Would the Trike X be my first choice if money were no object? No, I don’t think so, but for what it is, for the quality of construction, and the overall level of components fitted, I think it represents excellent value for money. I compared it to a similar machine made here in the USA, and even with the shipping costs from Taiwan taken into consideration, I was still saving a fair chunk of cash, and I felt I was getting a better trike for my money.

    Okay, the trike lacks some of the more refined adjustments that you’d find on a machine made by, say, ICE Trikes, but, even so, with a little bit of time and effort I believe the machine can be set up to suit the needs of st riders.

    Yes, the Performer trikes do appear to be aimed at a particular price point, and the level of quality of the frame and the equipment fitted does reflect this. I think the frame on my machine is very well made, although I do agree with Steve’s point about the mounting for the derailleur. That is a potential flaw, and any damage sustained in that area of the frame
    could either be very difficult, or maybe even impossible, to repair.

    If you want to, you can purchase the machine directly from RBR in the USA, but it will cost you more money (then again, RBR will fully assemble it, and check it out for you).

    The proof of the pudding for me is that I still love riding this trike. I ride it every single day, given the chance, and each time I do it puts a big smile on my face. Whenever I ride down the road that leads onto the local bike path, I feel like a kid again, ready for the next adventure, so I’d say I was a pretty happy camper with this machine!