TIRE PRESSURE … READ ALL ABOUT IT


sidewall tire pressure

Another website article I came across recently is about air pressure in tires. The title of the article kind of catches your attention … “4 Ways Your Tire Pressure Is Wrong“. Those 4 ways are: 1) You don’t actually know your pressure, 2) You’re using the same pressure front and rear, 3) You’re not checking it regularly, and 4) It’s probably too high. It is an interesting read. Well, you may not be able to read ALL there is to read about tire pressure, but you can certainly read about it.

pumping up bike tire 3

There has been quite a bit of chatter recently about tire pressure and whether or not there really is anything to what we have long heard and believed … that the higher the pressure the less rolling resistance and the longer a tire will last. Now there are those saying it ain’t necessarily so … they we have been wrong about this. These folks say tests have shown this. I am among those who are not convinced. It sure seems to me that the higher the pressure the less rolling resistance and the tires will last longer. Anytime I have ridden with my tires at a considerable lower pressure (still within the range of the tire) it doesn’t roll as easily and I can’t go as fast. They say that “the proof is in the pudding” and that someone with experience is not at the mercy of someone who only has an argument to offer. It is going to take more than mere words and claims to change my mind about this. Anyway, keeping our tires properly inflated will help us to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on April 4, 2016, in maintenance/repair, riding, tadpole trikes, tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Another great post Steve, and something I have been doing a lot of thinking about in the last few days as I have seemed to have had some problems with new tires that I had just recently purchased for the Armadillo Sleep Pod, the trailer I have been building for my trip to the Florida, Keys this spring.. As well, as thinking about the tires in which I will be changing for the roadtrip, on my Q-4, or Custom Fat Cat Quad-4.. As I will not be riding a majority of the time on dirt,roads, or traveling to the sandpits near my home, which offer great fun with the Surley, Big Fat Larry tires in which I ride now, to a less cohesive, or gripping tire, to one with less roll resistance..
    Now Getting to the inflation part of the subject which is the primary purpose of this post, which you were so kind to have posted… I find, as you do, that the higher the pressure I inflate the tires, which in my case at the moment with the Big Fat Larry tires are only recommended to be inflated to 30-35 psi, but if I were to inflate the tire just a little more, that I get less the cohesion of tire grip to the road which allows the tire to roll easier on paved surfaces to which I get greater roll than as to when I inflate to just the prescribed weight pressure, of 30-35 psi. , which makes for a better ride as I had said on dirt , or sand, and hence making better grip on those surfaces… So what I do, is as I always carry a pump with me, as we should all do, no matter however close we are to home, is inflate the tire pressure to a higher pressure when traveling to the dirt road, or sand pit, and then letting out the air when arriving at those destinations, to the prescribed pressure, of 30-35 psi. so as I get the proper cohesion for the riding under those conditions…! And then as I am getting ready to return home, I add a little more pressure as to better the ride back home…! Now as I know this is a little inconvenience to some but it is well worth it to me for the better enjoyment of the ride for me.. Now let’s discuss the safety issues involved in these changes, as I’m sure that it may cross your mind..! I take the risk of flats, which now when the tire is overinflated, I am at higher, or greater risk of because of the more resistance to when rolling over a puncturing obstacle in the road, at a higher inflation pressure when traveling to the dirt roads, or sandpits, but with good road practice, I stay at a low state of alert to avoid those obstacles in order to go around them, and use all necessary caution because I do not want to spend all my energy pumping the cranks harder on paved roadways… We all know that the taughter we hold a material that the less chance of resistance to a piercing, or cutting debris, which will perforate thru a taughter material than as to the apposed less taught material would be, because the more given it would be to a sharp point or cutting edge.. Now as I said this is something I do, and I do not advocate this for everyone, but only to those who can, and will be able to stay alert to hazardous conditions when riding under the conditions in which I described in this post… But generally we should always follow, and ride our machines as they are prescribed by those who manufacture them, and abide by their recommendations as they apply, so as not to injure yourself, or others who may be riding with you, and so as not to void your warranties on your machines, tires, and tubes, as the manufacturer may will do if not followed as recommended to their instructions…
    So I wish you safe riding , and happy trails to you all with many a mile all filled with smiles as we ride our recumbent machines…!
    Armadillo Zack