2016 NATIONAL BIKE CHALLENGE


 

National Bike Challenge 2

May is on the way as one website I saw reads. And …

May is National Bike Month

The annual National Bike Challenge starts on May 1st. I participated in it a few years ago and ended up in first place in my locality. It was indeed challenging to do so and I didn’t care to do it again the next year or since. I am well satisfied to have accomplished it once. I am talking about what was involved to end up in the lead. Regardless of how much we ride we can enter the “challenge” and not ‘compete’ to get first place. I was asked and encouraged to register and take part in it as a representative of my area knowing that I ride a lot … or at least I did then. I still ride, but not as much each day as I did then. PeopleForBikes owns, operates and maintains the National Bike Challenge website. PeopleForBikes is making bicycling better for everyone by uniting millions of riders, thousands of businesses and hundreds of communities.

“The National Bike challenge is a nationwide event uniting thousands of current bicyclists–and encouraging countless new riders.”

National Bike Challenge

All that is involved is to 1) register (it’s free) and 2) keep track of your rides and enter the mileage on their website. You don’t have to do it everyday. You can enter it whenever you get a round tuit just so long as you enter it within the time frame of the event. Just keep accurate record of it so you can enter it. Here is a sampling of what the record keeping looks like on their website. This was my mileage back in June 2012 when I participated in it.

June milage

For those who use smartphones there are apps available to use to keep track of your mileage and upload it to the website making the task even easier.

You can read more about this event HERE.

In closing this article I need to mention that according to what I understand Scott is not sponsoring this event this year. The image I have posted up above shows Scott, but that was last year’s image. Cottonelle is the main sponsor of this event.

Speaking of sponsors …

National Bike Challenge sponsors 2016

And BTW, I don’t know if the numbers shown in the image (75,000 people, 35,000,000 miles) are the same for this year or not. Lastly, there are free prizes given away for those who lead in the mileage tallied.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on April 23, 2016, in misc., riding, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on 2016 NATIONAL BIKE CHALLENGE.

Comments are closed.