IF IT AIN’T BROKE DON’T FIX IT


am sure most of us have heard that saying before. I am a firm believer in it along with some other well known sayings such as “Design should follow function rather than trend” … “A place for everything and everything in it’s place” … “A clean shop is an efficient shop”, and on and on the list could go. When it comes to our trikes I definitely don’t believe it is wise to mess with stuff when everything is working okay. It doesn’t take much to totally mess up some things such as derailleur adjustment. One thing for sure … if we are going to mess with something it is best that we know what we are doing. Otherwise we will likely mess it up … and probably not be able to fix it.

Even professional mechanics sometimes mess stuff up and aren’t even aware of it. I once took my trike in to a local bike shop (LBS) to have the rear shifting cable changed. I usually do this myself, but I decided to hire it done that time as I just didn’t feel like messing with it. Upon getting my trike back from them and back home I took off for a ride on it the next morning. I rode it about an eighth of a mile and while pedaling along I noticed something which didn’t seem right. I had some noise and some resistance as I pedaled. It felt like the chain was rubbing on something. I stopped and got off to take a look to see if I could discover the problem. At first glance I did not spot the problem so I decided to take a closer look. I tipped the trike over on it’s side and it didn’t take long to see what was going on. The chain had been “broken” (taken apart) and when it was put back on the return portion of it was routed on the top side of the idler pulley instead of on the bottom side so the idler pulley wasn’t doing anything … wasn’t even being used. DUH!!! I could not believe a professional mechanic could possibly do something so dumb. The chain had been rubbing on the bottom side of my frame and cut into it a ways. I rerouted the chain placing it where it belonged so I could ride on. When I got back home later I emailed the LBS about this letting them know what they did and the damage it had done to my frame. I was not a happy camper. They denied that they even had the chain apart and messed with it, but when I pointed out that there is no way for the chain to change to that position without someone taking either the chain apart or the idler pulley assembly they said that I should bring my trike back and they would do whatever is needed to satisfy me. (They never did admit to being at fault however. They continued to deny that they had done this.) They filed/ground the frame where the chain had rubbed and cut in to smooth everything back out and repainted the area. It looked very good when I got it back. I could barely tell anything had happened. I could have pushed for a new frame and to tell you the truth, in hindsight, I wish I would have since this little incident did weaken the frame somewhat. I would have been within my rights to do so, but I was trying to work with them and let them off easy. Now, I told this story to you because it ties into what I am addressing … if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. There was no reason for them to have taken my chain apart which caused this to happen. I had my trike in there for replacing the rear shifting cable … nothing else. Yeppur, I am a firm believer in …

it it ain't broke

as that helps us to …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on May 11, 2016, in maintenance/repair, tadpole trikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. armadillozack

    Steve I am totally on the same page as you when it comes to those things that need not be touched.. I have not been in the situation that you have been, but I do remember being at a park once, and getting a flat, and not having a repair kit with me at the time for one reason, or another.. But luckily there was a bike shop across the road from the park, and I brought the bike over and told them about the flat, and they said they had one customer in front of me and if I could wait, so there was a pizza shop just a few doors down so I said that I’ll leave the bike, and will be back, they said no problem, and would have the bike ready when I got back.. Well I go have a bite to eat, and when I got back the bike was done as promised, and I asked what I owed them, and here it comes they hit me with this $39.00 bill, that I almost fell through the floor with..! I asked them how much did they charge to patch a flat, and is when they said they don’t patch flats they replace the tubes, I said ok how much is a tube, and is when they told me that my tire didn’t have a lot of tread on it so they replaced the tire with a used tire with more tread, and replaced the tube, about now I am fuming mad, and about to squish this little so, and so, when I said to him I asked you if you could repair a tube for me that I picked up a nail, and that they said sure, and that there was a customer before me, and that I would have to wait, and no where in our conversation did I ask them to replace the tube, and tire with a used tire with better tread especially when I knew the tire that was on the bike was only two weeks old, and was in great shape after I demanded to speak to the owner of the shop did I find out this guy was just hired that day did not have a lot of experience and a lot of more excuses were offered for their mistake that the owner ate the bill, and I went back to the pizza place to eat another slice of their awesome tasting pizza…! But it is a buyer beware drama when dealing with a bike shop that is unknown to you…!
    Great post as always Steve, thank you…!
    Armadillo Zack