ALL ABOUT TIRES


Schwalbe flag

The well known and respected German tire manufacturer, Schwalbe, has put together a considerable amount of information about tires on their website. Being the number one tire manufacturer in all of Europe and gaining rapid ground in the U.S. I think it is safe to say that they know a thing or two about tires. Here are their various webpages concerning tires:

TIRE CONSTRUCTION

ROLLING RESISTANCE

TIRE WEAR

INFLATION PRESSURE

TIRE DIMENSIONS

SIZE MARKINGS

ABOUT TIRES & WHEELS

****************** and as an added bonus 🙂
SCHWABE MARATHON PLUS REVIEW

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on May 20, 2016, in news and interviews, tadpole trikes, tires and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. armadillozack

    A very good posting Steve, as I have been looking at tires these last few days… I am sure you are already aware of my intentions to ride my Q-4 recumbent to the Florida keys, well as I will be traveling on paved roadways the whole way there, with only a couple exceptions for when I bed down for the night on some lonely stretch of beach, in stealth mode as it is called in Florida… Other than those 3 nights I expect going down, and than coming back up, I will be traveling on paved roadways, ( U.S. 1 south, and north on my return ) and then the overseas highways connecting the Keys.. So I will be looking for the least resistant tire as possible.. I am going to use fat tires, because I want to keep the small amount of suspension that they afford me, without having to change out wheels as well as tires.. I have my eye on the Vee Rubber Speedster Fat Bike Tire: 26″x 3.5″ 120 tpi for the swap out, with those tires I believe that I will be traveling along with the least amount of resistance I can find in a tire, and making my trek to the Keys a very enjoyable one…! I have looked at other tires as well, but nothing too promising as the Vee Speedster, so I think I have made up my mind, but thank you for the post as it affords me another look at tires for my ride…
    Armadillo Zack

  2. They still have a considerable amount to learn about producing fat tires for riders who are very serious about remote backcountry exploration. Currently, they do not offer a fat tire worthy of rugged multi-day treks into the hinterlands, a tire that will hold up to the rigors of desert travel. The Marathon Plus is a proven leader worthy of long-haul treks – if this company could produce an equal quality fat tire, I would be on board. Until then, I’ll stick to VEE tires.

    https://trikeasylum.wordpress.com/more/schwalbe-jumbo-jim-26×4-80-tire-report/

  3. Zach, I have to wonder about your choice of using a fat tire riding mostly on pavement especially HOT pavement in Florida. Are you sure this is a wise choice? Wouldn’t you be better off using Big Apples Plus to maintain your suspension effect & get a tire more suited to riding on asphalt?

  4. Zack could use the VEE Speedster tire on the pavement. They have plenty of normal street tread, a very robust tire, and are perfect for pavement riders. I would agree with Glen about using the Schwalbe Jumbo Jim strictly for pavement, which would not be the best choice due to the aggressive knob pattern and the inferior quality of the tire carcass.