FAIRINGS FOR TADPOLE TRIKES


Windwrap WGX one point fairing

Different strokes for different folks as they say. Me, I like the wind in my face (and elsewhere) while I am out riding as it feels so good to me. I would be most miserable without it. However, some don’t like it so they opt for fairings. I readily admit that riding in nasty weather a fairing might indeed feel good.

I only know of three manufacturers for these … Windwrap, ZZipper, and HP Velotechnik.

Zipper DragonFlyer

Some are made so that they can be temporary moved forward somewhat out of the way helping the rider to get in and out of their trike. If you have physical limitations these fairings would be a big problem. I could not use one as I get on and off of my trike  walking forward and backward straddling the boom. I can not safely step over the boom as is required when using a fairing. Anyone with balance issues or unsteadiness would probably have problems.

HP Velotechnik Streamer fairing

HP Velotechnik (shown above) states that their fairings will also fit several other brands of trikes.

Graham Williams of England has a video about two of his trikes outfitted with fairings. He is obviously sold on fairings and truly enjoys them on his trikes.

Graham also has this video showing a little detail of how the fairing is mounted.

Here is another video showing the installation of a HP Velotechnik Streamer fairing. The audio in this video is all messed up.

As mentioned in the video the location of lights might very well be another problem. Also oncoming lights may as well. Mind you, I have never ridden a trike with a fairing so I have no experience with one. I am merely stating what comes to mind about potential concerns.

Another concern I would have in using a fairing is visibility. Brand new a fairing would be clear, but in time I would think they would get messed up and greatly reduce visibility. Even in rain and snow looking thru a fairing could be quite challenging and unsafe in my opinion. And depending upon where one rides the fairing could get in bad shape rather quickly. I guess I am glad I have no desire for one as I would be quite upset to spend all that money only to see it get ruined before my eyes (quite literally).

Lastly, I would be extremely concerned about damaging a fairing as they would be very easy to damage since they stick out like the proverbial sore thumb. And again, that would really upset me spending all that money on one.

Utah Trikes has several fairings shown on their webpage along with the prices of each.

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on May 27, 2016, in accessories, options, rider comfort, tadpole trikes, videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on FAIRINGS FOR TADPOLE TRIKES.

Comments are closed.