BOOBY TRAPPED BIKE TRAILS


barb wire injury to face

This subject is almost unbelievable and most definitely scary.

barb wire injuries to neck

Evil hearted people are stringing barbed wire (and other wire) across trails and roads where cyclists come upon them and usually don’t see them at all or don’t see them in time to avoid injuries. In the image below (which I created to illustrate this as I don’t have any actual pictures of a paved bicycle trail where this has been found) I have circled the wire in yellow.

barb wire across trail 3

Nobody likes meeting up with barbed wire …

barbed wire entanglement 2

Here is a real picture of barbed wire across a trail in the U.K.

barb wire across trail

The cyclist spotted it just in time to get stopped. He reports that if he had been going the other direction which is downhill he never would have seen it in order to avoid it. Anyway, this sort of thing is happening in various places all over the world. I think it is mostly on off road riding areas, but some have been reported on bike trails and roads.

Not all of these wires are face high. Sometimes they are lower so that the front tire catches it and the bike gets flipped over. At least that is what the intent is. At our height we might get our faces or necks right into it.

Hopefully this won’t “catch on” and escalate. I have not heard of it happening anywhere near me.

SOOOO fellow tadpole riders do your best to be alert. No one wants to be a victim of such evil practices. We all want to safely …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on June 3, 2016, in news and interviews, safety, tadpole trikes, trails and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Brian Templeton

    The offence of placing wires across ways that the general public is using for commuting should be upgraded to attempted murder, no less!

  2. armadillozack

    Wow…! I would love to get my hands on the ashole who started this trend, because excuse me but I would be taking the fu__ing barb wire to them for a chance feeling of how they would like to feel how close to death from one of these lengths of wire I could bring them…! If the culprits are found they should be dealt with swiftly, and with equal prejudice…! The law would probably just spank them, and give them some probation, or a fine…! But let’s just say you are not out by yourself, and you are a father ( thank god my children are all adults now ), and out with your son, or daughter just having a good day riding along, and your child gets ahead of you as we do tend to encourage them at times to be somewhat competitive and you come around a bend to find he, or she run into this horrible premeditated devise, and found your child, or children, or any loved one for that matter, entangled or worse by this, you would lose it right…! I know I would probably have to spend the rest of my life behind bars, because I can’t afford Johnny Cochran…! But this is something the law needs to get to the bottom of, and make an example of the culprit, so as not to have anything as I described happen…! Lets face it we are all human, and our outrage sometimes gets the best of us, regardless how restrained we may be…!
    Armadillo Zack