DRY RAIN VS. WET RAIN


One of my cycling friends I ride with coined the phrase “dry rain”. Myself and another friend kid him about this since it sounds so silly. What he is talking about is when it is precipitating light enough that we can feel it coming down on us but we don’t get wet. It evaporates off of us rather than accumulating and getting us wet. We have ridden in such conditions numerous times. However, the problem is that his dry rain all too often turns into regular ol’ wet rain and we get wet. It is all his fault. We didn’t want to go out knowing that it was threatening rain. But he insisted that it is a dry rain and we will be safe. That happened yesterday. I only got a 3 mile ride in and the last 2 miles of it I was experiencing wet rain. Fortunately it remained light while I was out so I didn’t get thoroughly soaked.

Today the skies are emptying themselves with barrels of wet rain coming down. I am not venturing out today. So here I sit thinking about rain. Looking at the forecast and the weather radar it appears that today will not be a day where any riding is in the picture. We need the rain though so it is good that it is falling. Actually we have been having a lot of excellent riding weather this spring.

The bad thing about riding at this time of year where I am at is all the ‘snow ‘ falling down and laying on the ground. I am referring to cottonwood seeds … that white stuff that is all over the place and so messy. I can’t help but wonder if cottonwood trees are part of the curse man brought upon earth when he along with Eve sinned in the Garden of Eden. Those cottonwood seeds are always stuck all over my trike as I ride along the trails. I sometimes swallow one as it is falling thru the air and that is always a horrible experience to deal with as they lodge in my throat making me cough like crazy. Then there are the mulberries laying all over the trails to ride thru and further mess things up. I am hoping that the hard rain coming down today will help wash off both of these and knock most of the remaining cottonwood seeds off of the trees.

Into each life a little rain must fall. I have to admit … while out riding I prefer it to be “dry rain”. I prefer to take my showers at home. Besides, as much “stuff” as I carry on my trike soap is not part of it. Looking at the ten day weather forecast there appears to be mostly good riding days ahead. I hope it is the same where you are at and we can all enjoy it and …

KEEP ON TRIKIN’

About Steve Newbauer

I have a few current blogs (tadpolerider1, navysight, and truthtoponder) so I am keeping busy. I hope you the reader will find these blogs interesting and enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me at stevenewbauer at outlook.com

Posted on June 22, 2016, in riding, tadpole trikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on DRY RAIN VS. WET RAIN.

Comments are closed.